Churches of Vilnius !!!!


Advertisement
Lithuania's flag
Europe » Lithuania » Vilnius
August 28th 2008
Published: September 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

J has this strange rule where you are not supposed to talk to her until she talks to you in the morning; approximately 20minutes after waking up. Apparently the rule applies to her family too...

I woke up around 0640am, J was already up and she spoke to me. She had obviously woken up earlier and had already been through her hibernation period.

We were taking the 0815am train to Vilnius. So had to take the bus from J's place at 0737am to the train station Kaunas 1.

The train time Kaunas-Vilnius was about 1hr 50mins and it costs about 13.5 Lita's. We got into Vilnius around 10am and then looked for our hostel, "Vilnius Old Town Hostel". The lady asked us to come back around 1pm, so instead I left my backpack in the kitchen area and we started walking around Vilnius.

Went to a pizza place and I had pizza for lunch, J does not eat. She eats fruits and only has 1 meal a day and that also either a doughnut or pancakes. I really cannot understand this girls metabolism. So different to us Sri Lankan, I was telling her how when us Sri
The church of all saints.....The church of all saints.....The church of all saints.....

Inside the church of all saints....
Lankans we are having breakfast we are already wondering what to have for lunch and the same goes for dinner...and here she hardly eats anything.

After checking out all the places we finally got back to the hostel around 7pm and then we were shown to where our dorm bunk beds.

Went to a supermarket nearby and bought bread, cheese, yogurt and milk. This was going to be my dinner. In our room there were 7 bunk beds. There were 5 women and 2 men including me. J and I we were chatting when the other women who seemed like Swedish came to the room. I went to meet the receptionist to ask some question about Estonia and when I returned these women were kinda changing all out in the open in the room. Even though the door was open I knocked and I asked if it was ok to come in and the women were like wondering like why do you have to ask kinda thing....I can get used to this ;-) hehehe.....

The women went probably for a drink; J and I kept chatting and I was soo tired and was falling asleep. J took the top bed and I took the one at the bottom.







Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Vilnius Old Town HostelVilnius Old Town Hostel
Vilnius Old Town Hostel

At the Vilnius Old Town Hostel.....their were 4 women making noise in the middle of the night...I had a choice of reporting them and getting them executed or well lets just say it was mixed dorm room and they didn't quite care where they changed ;-) lol !!!!
Gates of DawnGates of Dawn
Gates of Dawn

Otherside of the Gates of Dawn
JustinaJustina
Justina

J looking at the miracle square S T E B U K L A
Views from the upper castleViews from the upper castle
Views from the upper castle

View of the TV tower...
Hill of 3 crosses....Hill of 3 crosses....
Hill of 3 crosses....

View of the hill of three crosses from the upper castle....
City viewsCity views
City views

Views from the upper castle
River view...River view...
River view...

Views from the upper castle
Uper castleUper castle
Uper castle

View from top of the upper castle....
Upper castle side....Upper castle side....
Upper castle side....

Bottom of the upper castle side...


Tot: 0.277s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 17; qc: 63; dbt: 0.234s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb