Trakai Palace !!!!


Advertisement
Lithuania's flag
Europe » Lithuania » Trakai
August 29th 2008
Published: September 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Woke up around 730am, took a shower and had breakfast. Finished the rest of the bread and cheese spread.

Told the lady at the counter that we were checking out and left my bag under the staircase which is where people keep their backpacks at their own risk. The beauty of my backpack is I don't care if anyone steals because I don't have anything worthwhile apart from my clothes which I am not too bothered about.

We took a bus to Trakai and we walked towards the Trakai palace. En-route we passed some really cute wooden houses.

The Trakai palace looks absolutely beautiful. People come here to take their wedding photos too.

After walking all over the Trakai palace we walked in the nearby area. Crossed this pretty dodgy bridge where the bridge is actually on the water kept afloat by hollow cylinders (floaters) and these are all connected by rope. When you walk on it you feel as if you are moving and the floaters keep bobbing up and down. Once on the other side J started picking plums. One thing really cool in this trip is sometimes we literally live off the land, we
Wooden housesWooden housesWooden houses

Wooden houses along the way to the Trakai Palace..
picked apples on the road, some other fruit and now plums. Ate enough plums fill us up and crossed the bridge back and walked back to the bus station. Got back to Vilnius to the hostel. Finished the rest of my yogurt and milk picked up my backpack and took a train back to Kaunas 1.

We got back to J's place around 7pm. Took a shower and checked email. Afterwards, J had a sudoku book which I had a look at. Believe it or not today the 29th Aug is the first time I have attempted sudoku. I have seen my colleagues playing it by I have never checked it out and I got 2 of them which J said were quite tough, easily. Think I can get hooked on this.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Trakai PalaceTrakai Palace
Trakai Palace

Palace courtyard....
Inside palaceInside palace
Inside palace

Church inside the palace...
Secret doorSecret door
Secret door

This place used to be full of water and the secret door was used to get on a boat and get away from the palace without going through the main entrance....
Inside orthodox chruchInside orthodox chruch
Inside orthodox chruch

Random church on the way to Trakai Palace
KingKing
King

King of the palace fast asleep...


16th December 2008

Nice place
I have been there. Its a quite unique place. You can learn more about it from http://lt.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trak%C5%B3_salos_pilis
28th November 2010
Picture 430

wood
hi i'm from iran . masters student wood . its products, please send me material. thanks

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 13; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0882s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb