Meeting the famliglia (part one)


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
April 23rd 2009
Published: April 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

So after mum's stomach stopped growling and after she stopped snoring I finally fell asleep. When we woke up (and thought it was morning) mum looked at her watch (without numbers) and thought it was seven. Antonia burst into our room anouncing it was 1pm. We felt very embaressed of sleeping in. The blinds over the window don't let any sunlight in whatsoever. We woke up and felt completely drunk (with jetlag). After some coffee and breakfast we drove to Chiuppano (my nona's home town) to see some more relatives. (I'm not going to write down everyone we saw because I don't think I remember all of their names and I know mum won't be able to spell everyone) I will however mention Silvanna's pug Bortello, and the fact that their is a "mind dog" sign on the fence where he resides. After some more stops we picked up mum's blackberry (it took nearly an hour to sign up with it get it working). The phone place smelt like chalk. Stefano had never heard the word "chalk" before but it works out to be "gesso" in Italian. Not to be confused with "cesso" which is a slang term for the bathroom, or a disgustingly ugly peson, haha. We then went to the grocery store briefly. Mum was happy to see lemoncella was a measly 5Euro, and wine starting at 2Euro only. We came home for supper (with a few more relatives waiting for us) I had an egg noodle pasta with artichoke sauce and mum had the same but with meat sauce, followed by cooked potato, carrots, artichoke, zuccini AND salad. AND THEN a pinapple torte (cake) and a hazelnut torte. After too much food and dulce (sweets) more relatives came over. (I think there was roughly 12 people?) Lots of fuss and questions, thankfully I had mum, Silvanna and Stefano to translate so I didn't feel *too* lost.
Tomorrow we are ACTUALLY waking up at a decent time and going to one of the markets followed by a trip to Verona to see Romeo & Juliet's place. I promise by tomorrow I'll have a few pictures posted (I havn't taken many yet due to us waking up at a silly time and feeling gross for the bulk of the day). More later!
Ciao.
Words learnedused today:
Cesso
Gesso
Dulce
Banyo (bathroom *formal*)
Tutti (everyone)
Aspettare (wait)
I'm sure there are more, I really should write them as I use them so I can remember better.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb