Irsina!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
September 11th 2005
Published: September 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hello!
How are you? I’m having a great time here. The orientation I had was in a town near Rome called Albano, it was founded 3,000 years ago by the refugees of the battle of troy, and the city is situated on an ancient volcano that has a lake in the middle. Our hotel was actually a convent, it was weird to be there, but it was beautiful.
My family is really nice. They own a bar, which isn’t just a bar but a bakery and a ice cream shop too. They make ice cream themselves, its soo delicious. Irsina is beautiful. Its basically on the top of a hill, and the view is awesome.
The other day Zio and Zia took Rosa and I to visit the city Matera, which I think is where Mel Gibson filmed the passion. The sassi, which is what the houses built into the side of the mountain are called, are so interesting, if you get a view without lightpoles, cars, or people, it feels like you were transported back in time. Modern Matera is not so pretty, cement is the preferred building material, and it doesn’t looks ugly most of the time.
Irsina is such a small town, but I like it because even though its surrounded by farmland, its not completely cut off from civilization. Yesterday, Zio and Zia took Rosa and I to see fountains and panoramas around Irsina. I took an insane amount of pictures. On the road to the fontana(fountain) we visited, we ate berries growing from a wall, very tasty, and a couple grapes. At the fountain I drank some water coming out from a spigot, it was so cool. I was taking pictures of a vineyard when the farmer came up. He offered us grapes, and let me take more pictures of his farm. Next we drove to this castle that was past our house. It was pretty, but you couldn’t see much because of the high wall around in. In the hills past the castle we watched the most beautiful tremont(sunset). Zia found some arugala by the road. It smelled, and tasted to strong. We picked a bunch to bring home. At cena(dinner) we made a salad with arugala, tomatoes, potatoes, and olive oil.
I have perfected a clueless look. I’m slowly learning italian, and I started my first italian lesson this week. Eventually I’ll get it right. Well that’s all for now.
Ciao
~Alyssa


Advertisement



14th September 2005

Oi lindinha! fiquei muito feliz por ter notícias suas, e também por conseguir entender tudo, apesar do meu inglês fraco. Me diga se vc consegue ler em português, tá bom? bjs
14th September 2005

Make sure you learn how to make the ice cream!!
Afilhada querida, how nice it is to finally get some news from you. I am glad that you are at a place that can enrich our culinary experience. Make sure to learn how to make italian gelatto. I will gladly buy the recipe from you(yeah right!). I already have the pasta, now we need the dessert! Enjoy your stay. Say hello to the family. Please specify who the family members are. I have a good idea, but not 100 percent! Love, Tio Gusto
14th September 2005

Ciao Bella!
Hey Sweetie! It sounds like you're having a blast! How is your host family, do you get along with your host siblings? Hmm.. that gellato sounds delicious.... ;) Write me an email sometime soon, love you! Laura
16th September 2005

awesome!
it's so amazing that that city was founded 3,000 years ago! the US isn't even 300 years old yet. and why are there no bars/bakeries/ice cream shops here? it's a good combination. now i know that garrison tremont's last name means sunset, which should totally be his new name. damn, you'll be trilingual before long, if you don't count french. ♥ chelsea
16th September 2005

happy to see you happy !!!!!!!!!!
Thanks to send me news. I´m really happy to see you learning a new culture and a new language. Hope you ´ve a wonderful time in this wonderful country. TUTO BUONA GENTE !! kISSES FROM TIO DADO
17th September 2005

Love you blog!
Hi. I'll write more later, but wanted to let you know we saw your blog. Everything sounds so interesting!! Keep us updated. Love you.
20th September 2005

awesome!
girl, that is awesome! But I personally like the phrase "I have perfected a clueless look". You just learned a lifetime skill!!!!
31st October 2005

New skill.
Compliments on it. Life requires a lot of it to get along with things your don't really go for. Useful in receptions, restaurants, reunions, family gatherings and etc, etc, etc..... ....as you will find out throughout...Love you.
3rd August 2008

From the author
Hey everyone! I've been getting alot of messages asking about life in irsina. Unfortunately I don't live there anymore, but if you have any questions you would like to ask feel free! Best Wishes, Alyssa

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb