St. Eufermia and 1st week of school


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
September 24th 2005
Published: September 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

9/24/2005 Saturday/Sabato
Ciao tutti!
I had my first week of school this week, I can sum in up in a couple words. Very hard, and I don’t like it very much. They go to school from Monday to Saturday from 8-2 on most days and 8-1:20 on Thursday and Saturday. School on Saturday! Whoever thought of such an evil idea! This week has been very hard for me, but slowly is it getting better, atleast I think it is.
It is very cold in Irsina now. I’m freezing, and the house isn’t that warm! It also rains a lot in Irsina, not fun! They have beautiful sunsets but the granary next to my house blocks most of my view.
My family eats pasta a lot, well actually every family in Italy eats pasta a lot. We eat it everyday, and its getting very old. Repetition is a very common thing is Italy, repeat food, repeat clothes… They use tomatoes, pasta, and mozzarella for everything, if there was suddenly a shortage of any of these things, I think most of the Italians would go hungry. They have something called a panzarotti, which is kind of a pastry thing filled with mozzarella and tomatoes and deep-fried; it’s very good.
My family’s house is very new, and they only moved in a month or two ago, they don’t know how to work the dishwasher or the oven! They also don’t have a microwave or toaster! Eventually I will try to cook for my family, but when they are sure of how to use the oven. The grocery stores here are so much smaller than the ones in Raleigh; they also have less if any frozen foods. They have lots of fresh things, many fruits and vegetables, but only when they are in season.
The weekend before school started was the festa of the patron saint of Irsina. Saint Eufermia, there is a statue of her in the cathedral, but that is all I know about her. They lined the main street with lighted arches, which were beautiful at night. There were also many vendors; it was like an open market. Also, near my house was a carnival, with a bunch of rides. I went on a few rides, but one of them gave me the worst bruise on my arm.
Anyways that’s all for now!
Ciao!
~Alyssa


Advertisement



26th September 2005

Keep up the log entries
I know most people like getting your blogger, so keep up the entries. Love you.
27th September 2005

Ahh!
It sounds awesome... i wish i could be there too. i want to visit sooo bad but I is Po'! i hope everything gets better- we shalll def. keep emailing! love youu <3
27th September 2005

Ahh!
It sounds awesome... i wish i could be there too. i want to visit sooo bad but I is Po'! i hope everything gets better- we shalll def. keep emailing! love youu <3

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb