Canoe central


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
April 25th 2012
Published: June 17th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 45.4345, 12.3384

25 April

So the scary train ride I expected from Roma to Venezia was easy. Not such a great start when the power at the Rome B&B off, so no shower and horror no hair washing or drying. I look a fright. There was a festival in Rome so my planned budget bus ride to the station became a last minute run and taxi ride but I made it. So proud of myself!

Not sure what to make of Venezia yet. It is beautiful and unique with the alleyways and canals but absurdly busy. People pushing everywhere. Glad I'm out before the weekend. Shops everywhere but very expensive.

Might be an early night tonight as I am quite overwhelmed. My room at the Casa Cosmo is lovely Start afresh tomorrow.

26 April

Off to the fresh veg and fish market this morning. Fantastic fresh fish and very cheap. All sorts - stingray, scorpion fish, eel, clams, salmon. No shark, not sure why.

Then a great day at the Accademia Gallery and the Peggy Guggenheim Collection. A wonderful few hours wandering around. Had my first gelato on the way.

I am tired of looking at Murano glass. Every shop is the same Still haven't bought anything!

One disappointment. I have not found a cat in Venezia. Perhaps they don't like the swim from the mainland? Plenty of dogs so maybe that is why.

I discovered the Venetian "spritz" at dinner. Yummo. Prosecco with Aperol or Campari. My new aperitif. With spaghetti bolognese AGAIN. Must initiate the girls when we meet at Lugascello in a few weeks. Can't wait for the laughs to begin.

27 April

Last day of wandering around Venice. I'm tired today so had a spritz with lunch and went home for a nap in the afternoon.

Off the Florence tomorrow...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



26th April 2012

Ahhhh Venice...... nice but the boats aren't big enough for us and our planned island cruises etc. Probably only fit 5-6 into those gondolas.I remember St Mark's Square and eating a huge pizza with you guys.
30th April 2012

so, you see this wonderful market with weird fish (scorpion, eel, stingray). Thye all sounds like not quite eatable to me. Have you tried them? That would be brave......or are you sticking to pizza/pasta/wine?
3rd May 2012

I remember this bridge!!! Great photo of you...
3rd May 2012

Who is taking the pictures of you? The cat?? You are looking wonderfully relaxed. Looks like you are having s wonderful time.Btw, it was Linda's last day at work before she leaves Perth next Tuesday. I sent a hug for you so make sure you g
et it.

Tot: 0.234s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 9; qc: 41; dbt: 0.1431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb