Florence


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
April 28th 2012
Published: June 17th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 43.7687, 11.2569

Arrived in Florence after a full day on the train. I found all of the high speed direct trains fully booked so took three trains to get here. Was lovely to see the Tuscan countryside and take a break from walking (although yes I was nervous about the train connections, pickpockets, getting lost, mugged, hijacked, etc).

Arrived at my lovely hotel and skipped straight to the Uffizi Gallery. 430pm = no queues! Fantastic! Made sure I saw all the masterpieces and made out I knew what they represented and ohhhh'ed and ahhhh'ed at the right times. Then needed a prosecco.

Found the Clubhouse where I could have a wine glass FULL of prosecco and buffet appetizers for €6. Outstanding. I think I love Florence.

29 April

Day 2. Checked out the Galleria dell' Accademia. The queue was 100m long so may try that again another time. I have seen the David replica so that may be enough.

Instead I visited the Museum of Photography. There was a special exhibition of work by Brian Duffy, English guy who photographed celebrities of the 60's. Loved it.

I then found a food market at Piazza S Maria Novelli where I had the equivalent of an Italian sausage sizzle, but much classier than Bunnings. Two glasses of vino Rossi to go with and I was skipping home in the rain.

Not one cat to be found in Florence. Very disappointed.

Tomorrow I'm off on a Vespa day trip to Tuscany. Can't wait. Hope it stops raining though.

30 April

Last day in Florence and I joined a Vespa tour in the Chianti countryside. Nine of us were riding Piaggio 50cc scooters with a maximum speed of about 45 km/h. It was a fantastic day.

We stopped for lunch at Villa Le Corti, a winery owned by a noble Italian family with a real prince and his family in residence. I quickly found out he was married with three children so that was a shame - he was quite nice looking. We enjoyed some chianti with lunch after a tour of the plant and barrel rooms.

Unfortunately it rained on the last 20 minutes of the ride home, but it made it even more fun and we all looked a mess.

It's still raining in Florence tonight and doesn't look good for tomorrow. I can't even be bothered going out tonight after coming home wet and cold. Macdonalds for dinner - just a week ago I thought how ridiculous tourists eating Maccas in Italy with so much great food around!

I'll be on my next train leg tomorrow to the Cinque Terra.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

David (Replica)David (Replica)
David (Replica)

Not the real David. I was too impatient to wait in line.


30th April 2012

You are making me very jealous Tan! If you top all this by also seeing Monica Bertolucci somewhere, I am afraid I won't be able to talk to you again.A x
30th April 2012

I'm really counting down the days now and very envious - Sue is off today so just me left here waiting for my flight to Roma. Can't wait to try your new aperitif - after all it must be good because it's got Prosecco in it!
30th April 2012

Museum of photography sounds awesome to me.... and Tuscan countryside. You are living the dream girl!!!! Enjpy it for all of us
30th April 2012

Sensational reading Tania....so lovely to see you having a great time
1st May 2012

Very impressive!!! Just what you need for West Perth. You look very relaxed - your previous motor bike experience probably made you Team Leader.

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb