Pavarotti never ate in Venice


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
September 28th 2006
Published: September 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This blog is dedicated to all bovines around the world.

After following the piece of string back to our hotel last night - we (I) got scrubbed up and we decided to head out for another Italian dream meal.

Much to my protests Chris decided she thought we should venture into unknown territory and order a set menu - I think the exact words to me were ' live a little '.

Well we found another likely feeding hole and headed on in.

First round was Spaghetti. It was just what we were expecting. Then round two arrived. Chris had chosen for herself Roast Chicken and Salad. I had gone for the Beef Fillet. After her juicy plump half a chicken arrived at the table. I was greeted with a piece of beef which had been skin grafted off a live cow, which I'm sure is still living somewhere in Italy with a bandaid on it's back and maybe a slight chip on it's shoulder.

Luckily for me they had placed a wedge of lemon to act as a paper weight as the breeze had picked up and this thing could have blown over the eyes of an unexpecting gondala driver and then all hell would have broken loose.

We were surrounded by a variety of tourists who all took great joy in my poor choice of main. We would have love to have met the man who was able to slice a piece of meat to this thickness - even my carrots were thicker.

Honestly it was likely eating a beef postage stamp.

Chris's near death experience of almost choking on her delicious chicken soon put a stop to her continuous laughter at my expense and we prepared for the next joke of the night - the bill.

Look we aren't being all American about this and wondering why everything isn't just like home and why they couldn't build bigger and faster gondalas with jet engines and everything. But last night we commited the cardinal sin and converted our bill to NZ$. Now we are well aware we would have been better off taking some beads and spices overseas to trade with but last night we paid........................ (drumroll)...................$20 NZ for two glasses (not mugs, not tankards, not jugs) glasses of coke. Oh my God!!!!!!!!Far canal Venice isn't cheap I know even the stuff in the 99cent shop costs 5 Euro?????

Even without converting it, it was 10 Euro. I can buy 3 umbrella's from the nice Senegal man at the train station, or 3 dancing Mickey Mouses from the nice Senegal man at the train station, or a camera that looks the same as my one in my backpack from the nice Senegal man at the train station. But no we spent our (last possibly) 10 Euro on two glasses of Coke.

All that aside the ten Euro definetly paid for a huge amount of laughter.

Due to my grumbling tummy and the need to find new digs we were up at the crack of dawn. Our 99cent shop alarm clock worked for a second time so is proving a worthwhile buy. We got ready and I put on my 99cent deodrant (my arm hairs have doubled in length but they assure me it is only temporary, I'm going to put some on my face tonight to see if I can finally grow that beard I've always wanted), we found some new digs just down the road, booked our ticket to BARCELONA, and then headed off on another day of touring.

Our big ticket item for the day was a gondala ride through Venice. This was priceless - well no it wasn't but we're not telling you how much anyway. It was a great 50 min - 60 mins of touring the canals and was really something that you need to do in Venice. It was very romantic and as I got down on one knee I remembered I was already married and so pretended to tie up my shoelace (unfortunately I was wearing jandals but the gondala man was engaged and turned me down)

And that's about us. As I have already said, Barcelona tomorrow (19 hrs on a train) so we will be out of contact for a few days. Will let you know off our safe arrival ASAP.

Keep the comments coming.

Advertisement



30th September 2006

Chris' appeal... feedy the needy
Want us to flick through an emergency KIWI food parcel of vegemite, weetbix and a fillet of Hoki? :)
2nd October 2006

Hi Chrisx2
Sounds like you're having heaps of fun!! I am so enjoying your journals - so funny - have you ever thought of writing a book!! When are you going to post some photos on the blog? Take care!

Tot: 0.325s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb