Off to Italia


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
March 11th 2010
Published: March 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

VENEZIA Day 50



Today was another train day as I made the journey into Italia. As I waited at the train station in Vienna I made a new friend. Rob, from the London area, was staying in the same hostel as I was and was also taking the same train to Venezia but he was going on to Florence. We chatted on the ride together and decided that we would try to meet up again if we were both in Roma at the same time. Rob was really nice and funny and also traveling on his own so it was good to have some company again for the both of us.

Just before Italia we had to change onto a bus, which was nice because the views were great along the road. There was one point where the mountains changed completely and there was a river running below that had the perfect blue water flowing through it and the river bed was a grey/white pebble. It was really nice. At the same time you could see the houses change and take on a more Italian look than those found in the German speaking countries.

We arrived in Venice and parted ways with the plan to try to meet up again. I headed to the centre of Venice on my Boat Bus. Yes people, I said boat bus! At first I was nervous about the whole boat bus idea. I know how to do trains and buses and ferries but this was a separate beast. I was worried that I would miss the bus and fall straight into the water bags and all. But, thankfully, I made it onto the boat bus and over to my hostel. By this time it was pretty late so I grabbed some pizza and went to bed.

I must say though that Venice is really beautiful at night. If it wasn’t late and if I actually had an idea of where I was going I would have headed back out to see Venice in the night but I decided to wait till the following day. And for some reason my back was hurting so I decided to get some sleep in hopes that it would be better in the morning.




Advertisement



4th April 2010

Beautifully described
Even without pics I can picture the transition you written words a wonderful. I hope your back is feeling better- could be a result of all the different beds you are sleeping in. Keep safe can't wait until the next blog.

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb