The Museum in Venice


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
September 12th 2008
Published: September 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Piazza si San MarcoThe Piazza si San MarcoThe Piazza si San Marco

Lovely in the morning light
Sept 8, 2008

I woke up and headed down for breakfast in the hotel. Knowing this would be my only "free "meal of the day, I filled up. Looking at some brochures for tours, I asked the receptionist which he preferred. He recommended 2 tours, a walking tour and a boat tour. I said "I do both."

Because the walking tour didn't begin until 11am, I decided to go to the museum in the piazza. It was lovely and almost no one was there. I walked around in silence looking at the marble statues, 5 hundred year old books, paintings, and bronze sculptures. Even though photographs were not allowed, I managed to take a few pictures while inside.

I then came back to my hotel to use the restroom and prop up my feet for 30 mins before I headed off to my 2 hour walking tour.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Celing ArtCeling Art
Celing Art

Looking up the entrance way to the museum
Marble SceneMarble Scene
Marble Scene

Who are these people? What were their lives like?
Bellas formatasBellas formatas
Bellas formatas

A term I was told was me by a man on the street. I didn't know what it meant. I later found out it means "beautiful curvy"
Old BooksOld Books
Old Books

really really really old books
Look upLook up
Look up

Forget the art...look up
Medevil TimesMedevil Times
Medevil Times

What I expected to see
Bling BlingBling Bling
Bling Bling

And entire room of gold coins of all shapes and sizes
Woooo Pig SooieWoooo Pig Sooie
Woooo Pig Sooie

Does this miniature bronze look familiar to any hog fans?
Gorgeous glassGorgeous glass
Gorgeous glass

duck...duck...goose
Stunning ShopsStunning Shops
Stunning Shops

Small shops line the inner walls of the Piazza


Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb