HERE


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
September 11th 2008
Published: September 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Violin Concert 85 secs
Arrival in VeniceArrival in VeniceArrival in Venice

From the water taxi
Sept. 7, 2008

After several flights and layovers, I finally made it to the Venice Marco Polo Airport. I was happy, if not shocked, to receive BOTH pieces of my luggage and the baggage claim. I then found my way to the "Verrgio" (water taxi) office and purchased a ticked to San Marco square (L'Piazza di San Marco). Little did I know that I then had to drag my bags a good 1k down to the Verrigo dock. Ouch!

I found my way to the correct verrigo and rode. At first there was really nothing to see. I had been awake for over 36 hrs. now and just wanted a hotel receptionist to give me a key to my bed. As usual, there were several languages being chatted in close proximity to me. 3 people in the Frankfurt airport thought I was German, but the Germans around here are rude. I've been cut in front of, pushed, and flat run over by a few who look at me like i was in their way.

I snapped a few pictures of the buildings in the sunset before the water taxi let us off. I thought to myself
SunsetSunsetSunset

Beautiful
"Great... Now where am I? I don't see the square. But everyone with luggage is moving in that direction, so I'll follow them." So, here I am lugging the luggage down the Water Walk, not knowing where I'm going. I stop by the 2 collums at the entrance to Venice and pulled out the hotel information that my mom had put in my purse. There was a tiny map and now I could see the square. I now needed to cross the Piazza with luggage in tow. Like mouse in a maze, I drug my wheeled bag, duffel bag, and backpack through a sea of people to the other side of the Piazza. The sweat was starting to runn down my face and arms. I knew I was getting close. I then found my street, and went up and over the bridge of stairs and right as I saw my hotel's logo, a man seated at a cafe with his wife says "Yep, she's lost." Which I quickly responded "No I'm not! My hotel is right there!" I felt very proud for finding it on my own.

The Royal San Marco Hotel is only a couple of blocks (if
Crowed Water WalkCrowed Water WalkCrowed Water Walk

Aren't most of the places to walk in Venice a "water walk"
you can call them that) from the Piazza. The receptionist made a note to tell me the Wifi of the hotel was NOT working currently. I made my way to my room and discovered a charming Princess styled room with a beautiful bed and nice bathroom. I made quick used of the restroom, did a quick rinse in the shower, and laid on my princess bed. I was here!

And now I need to call my mom and tell her I'm here. I tried using my international phone card for the room, but that was impossible. So, I went down to ask the receptionist to help me, but she couldn't figure it out either. I told her it was urgent that my mother be contacted or the receptionist would soon have a "crazy American mother on her hands." She allowed me to use the hotel's computer to send out an email.

Now, feeling excited, I dug through my luggage for fresh clothes and went out into the Piazza. I was a bit hungry and had heard there was a violin concert tonight in the Piazza. I wandered through the crowd with my gelato and camera in hand listening
A little somethingA little somethingA little something

Something from Venice that's really from China
to the beautiful music. It was a perfect beginning to my adventure.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

PrincipesiaPrincipesia
Principesia

My Princess Bed at the hotel in Venice
Piazza San Marco a nottePiazza San Marco a notte
Piazza San Marco a notte

The San Marco Square at night


14th September 2008

I love reading of your many adventures. The pics and video are awesome. Hope you are well. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb