On the 7 hour layover


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
September 7th 2008
Published: September 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

SO here I am ... waiting around ... watching the people ... chill'n on my computer (can't you imagine Eore from Winnie the Pooh's sad little voice)

I've already hit most of the little shops. All I need is a watch and the only ones I could find was either Sponge Bob or Power Puff Girls. I think I'll wait.

The party last night was great. I was so happy to see family and friends. The food and drinks were wonderful, but the company was better. Thank you to everyone who came.

I got on my way this morning. Mom, Dad, and Logan came to see me off. A family and church friend, Mrs. Patsy Brewer, was there at the curb loading her friend's luggage into her car. After chatting for a moment, her friend, this lovely stranger, wrapped her arms around me and gave me God blessings. It was one of the single most loving things a person could do for me, and I'll remember it for the rest of my life. God knew it was exactly what i needed at that moment.

I didn't cry, even after I got to my gate. I thought I might, but I didn't. I think I just enough older and more mature to be able to focus on the excitement of the situation instead of the fear and anxiety. I will miss my family and friends terribly, but thankfully technology has progressed in such a way that I will be able to call, email, and SKYPE almost daily. I love being able to use the webcam to see who i'm talking to and for them to see me. It is very comforting.

I'm going to watch a movie for a while and call some people later. I've got at least 3.5 hours to go. I'm on the down slope now!

Advertisement



7th September 2008

I miss you already, but can't wait to hear about your many adventures. I enjoy skype last night--I think it will make this seperation much easier. Love you!! Have fun (but don't forget to go to class, too)!!
7th September 2008

Have fun!
It was really great to see you before you "sailed" away to what I think will be the funnest year of you life. Learn a lot; Play a lot; and remember we are just a click away. Love you! E

Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb