Scarlet letter meets the orange mantle...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
July 31st 2008
Published: July 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Keep it clean, folksKeep it clean, folksKeep it clean, folks

Nothing like pleading for tourists not to litter than placing it next to some holy figures.
After another night of unbearable heat and being dive-bombed by mosquitoes, I awoke to a very nice breeze moving across the canal. I woke up optimistic for a visit to the Accademia, which is the premier art museum in Venice. Unfortunately, the Accademia was closed for a few hours due to a worker's strike, and so I resolved instead to go to the Chiesa dei Frari, which is home to two of the grandest paintings by Venetian favorite Titian. When I entered the Gothic church, I was instantly struck by the number of women walking around with orange plastic mantles covering their shoulders. I chuckled to myself when I realized this was the church's way of forcing modesty on those scandalous women who come into the holy of holies with tank tops and strapless dresses. I was thankful that I had been falsely assured by the morning breeze that today would be cooler, so I had opted for a T-shirt and jeans. Otherwise I would have been in their salacious ranks...
The church was absolutely stunning, and I sat admiring Titian's "Assumption of the Virgin" for about 45 minutes as I sketched the painting in my notebook. As usual, I
Don't drink the waterDon't drink the waterDon't drink the water

Well, the tap water is fine, but I won't vouch for this fountain. The pigeon seems ok, though.
was forbidden from taking any photos in the church, so I lit another candle ( a votive for my dissertation) and found some solace in the soft pink brick walls and majestically tall Gothic ceiling of the church. I went on to class and got lost (again) since Venice is one giant maze. However, the evenings are cool and I'm enjoying all of the pleasure reading I am able to do. Last night I finished my first non-art history book (sort of) with a cheap bottle of wine, which by the way, is cheaper than water or soft drinks. What's a girl to do? I am on a budget, you know...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

My balconyMy balcony
My balcony

A nice view of my balcony where I rest in the evenings...
The gondola left without meThe gondola left without me
The gondola left without me

I just can't bring myself to pay a hundred dollars for a ride in this thing- though i do get a kick out of watching the other tourists in it...


31st July 2008

Yay, orange!!!
Thats so great that they push the mantle for imodest outfits! We need those at church during the summer, I feel.;) So far the trip sounds fabulous. I want to hear about any friends, adventures and food that you experience!! The pics are GREAT. Are they from your camera or cell?? I feel like I'm getting an immersion experience, too!;)
6th August 2008

Reserve a gondola for OUR next visit!

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb