Venice, Italy - Day 2, The Salute & More Pigeons


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
September 22nd 2007
Published: October 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After checking out the Frari Church we are now headed back to San Marco Square. We find our way to the Grand Canal and hop on the Vaparetto. We make a pit stop along the way to see the Santa Marie Della Salute Church across the Grand Canal from San Marco area.

The Salute Church is under renovation so the dome is covered in scaffolding. However the exterior architecture is still impressive. The interior is simpler than expected and stripped of most of its contents and not quite as remarkable as the Frari Church we had just seen.

After spending some time at the Salute Church, we make our way across the Grand Canal back to San Marco to see the grand finale of our list of must see churches- Basillica San Marco and the Ducale Palace. We arrive in the Piazzale San Marco to the masses of pigeons. This time it is Bill's turn to experience feeding them.

Oh boy, was this the highlight for me. Bill's reaction was priceless! I wish I had video taped it. He cringes at the first landing and starts laughing with this look that words can not describe. Unlike my experience the pigeons were not landing atop his head. I took matters into to my own hands and to Bill's surprise I pour some pigeon food on his head. This could have turned out bad, but it was so funny we laughed till our guts hurt. He was not too happy about me doing that, but the fun it turned out to be overrode his dismay with me. The pictures of Bill with his Pigeon friends about sum it up.


Additional photos below
Photos: 76, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

DockedDocked
Docked

by JK
Dogana di Mare Dogana di Mare
Dogana di Mare

The old maritime customs house next door to Santa Maria Della Salute Church. (by BK)
Dogana di Mare Dogana di Mare
Dogana di Mare

Next to Salute Church (by JK)


30th October 2007

wonderful
I am so impressed with all of these beautiful pictures Bill. Everyday I change my backgound picture of themany ones you have sent. It is so beautiful there and you have captured the beauty of Venice! The churches and buildings are amazing. thanks for sharing your journey with me! Julie

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0263s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb