Day 9 Leave Rome - Venice


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
June 18th 2023
Published: June 18th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Here we go again! Another day, another early start, another breakfast! Today we were up at 6:30, in breakfast, then setting off for Venice at 7:30.

It’s now 8:47, I’ve had an hour long nap. I seem to get up tired every morning, I guess it’s because we pack a lot into each day, so it’s worth it!

On the coach, we were able to enjoy the diversity of the Italian landscape as the tour travels onwards to Venice!

At 10:00am, we have a welcome comfort stop at another Autogrill truck stop. This one is at Nadia Al Pino Est. We all have this routine down to a fine art now. A quick cappuccino and a croissant for me, then we’re good to go!

I’ve just contacted Tom, hopefully we will be able to make time to catch up when I get to Amsterdam! If it’s possible, we will!

We had our lunch stop at around 12:30 at another Autogrill near by Bentivoglio. It was so busy, no time for lingering due to the high amount of people needing all of the services. We all managed to get, and do what we needed to. We are now about an hour away from Venice.

The last time I was here it was March 2020, Covid 19 was just taking hold of the world. We really didn’t comprehend the changes ahead! I’m sure that Venice is always a beautiful place to visit, but at that time it was even more so, very few people were there! St Marks Square was abandoned, no people on the steps, and swans were swimming in the sparkling blue water of the canals. So this trip is going to be an eye opener for me!

Here we are, we’ve arrived at pur Hotel. We are not staying in Venice centre itself. We are staying at an Aparthotel called Staycity nearby in Via ca’Marcello. We will journey into the centre by train.

Venice is the capital of northern Italy’s Veneto region, is built on 118 small islands in a lagoon in the Adriatic Sea. It has no roads, just canals – including the Grand Canal thoroughfare – lined with Renaissance and Gothic palaces. The central square, Piazza San Marco, contains St. Mark’s Basilica, which is tiled with Byzantine mosaics, and the Campanile bell tower offering views of the city’s red roofs, and is also known for the Grand Canal and Rialto Bridge, the gondolas, Venetian masks, piazzas, art, and traditional Moreno glass and lace making.

After booking in at the hotel, we meet to take the train to the centre. It’s only a few stops, so easy to do. Just remember to frank your ticket before boarding the train, if you don’t, you could be risking a big fine!

We set off from the Central Station on the walk to St Mark’s Square. It’s hot, hot, hot. We were able to view The Rialto Bridge, then on, and on through the compact, narrow winding streets of Venice.

The experience this time, compared to my previous trip, is worlds apart. This time, there are so many people! Very similar to being in Rome. The people are like ants, strongly marching in all directions to their next destinations whilst simultaneously eating, drinking, catting and laughing. There are so many more shops and restaurants open, and the stalls are dotted everywhere. This is most noticeable in St Marks Square….which was empty last time!

We arrived in the square, some of the group are going on the gondolas, some are shopping, I’m opting to meander! Although my first stop is to sit back and relax with a cappuccino!
It’s now 5:10pm, my next meeting point and time is to meet back in St Mark’s Square at 9:30 for the water taxi back to the train station. But until then….!I will meander!

Well, I’ve meandered myself out! I’m having a pit stop…. And a beer! It seems like one a day may keep the doctor away. After not drinking alcohol for years, it seems quite easy!!
But I chose alcohol as I’m a bit coffee’s out right now!

To finish my walk, I got a Dolce Latte gelato to walk back to St Mark’s Square to meet the group. We are getting a water taxi over to the train station to return to our hotel for the night.
The ride back was great, a welcome change to walking! There were plenty of fantastic photo opportunities on the way.

We’re all back in the hotel now. I’ve repacked my backpack…. Again! Now we’re half way, I’m starting to repack my washing at the bottom for ease!

Another good day that gave me a completely different perspective and appreciation for the amazing floating city that I had in 2020


Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.023s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb