Venice, the menace….no


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
June 11th 2022
Published: June 11th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Artsy shots are easy to take in Venice Artsy shots are easy to take in Venice Artsy shots are easy to take in Venice

I think I will enjoy many of the pictures that I took today. This one does not look real, but I took it a couple of hours ago.
I didn’t like Venice one bit, the only time I visited it on a sweltering Saturday in July decades ago. I can remember impossible crowds, sickening heat, dirty water, a miserable hostel in a convent. My friends and I got up the next morning and showered under a cold tap, and caught the first train to Switzerland.

Today I thought I would give it one more chance this Saturday, but try to be one step ahead. I booked a good hotel 0.9 miles from the train station. I left my suitcase at the train station for 18 euros, and carried a light bag. I got good instructions from hotel staff how to do Venice in a day, plus a map that clearly labeled the hotel. I found the tobacco store where you buy a ticket for boat ferry, plus postcard and stamps. Seven euros for 75 minutes. Seems expensive for an hour and fifteen minutes. I find the ferry stop and sit triumphantly waiting for the boat. When it comes, it is clear that everyone needs a mask, so I dash off to find a store that sells one…eating up my precious minutes because I had to scan the ticket to get on the platform to wait.

I return with a mask, jump on the boat and sit back in the cool breeze to let Venice flow by….until they announce the final stop and no, this isn’t Marco square. So I get off and find the boat going in the right direction, and grab a front row seat in the front shaded deck, and everything is golden. Lovely boat ride, and I get to the famous square. There wasn’t a line up for the main building, but I wasn’t interested in going in. I found a nice cafe and had pasta, then spent the rest of day wandering through Venice. It is a good place to get lost in because it is an island and you hit the water in any direction. The are so many alleys and bridges and little squares. It wasn’t too crowded. When ever I figured I needed a course correction I would take out the map and ask a waiter or shop clerk to show me where we were on the map.

So, no, Venice is not the menace that I remembered. As you can see by the photos, it was a very good day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Here in Venice Here in Venice
Here in Venice

Carrying water as you do.
Renovations Renovations
Renovations

Are in every city
Ok, got my ticket for water bus and am waiting…BUTOk, got my ticket for water bus and am waiting…BUT
Ok, got my ticket for water bus and am waiting…BUT

I need a mask, so I scoot out and find a shop that sells them
Really nice boat trip along the main canal Really nice boat trip along the main canal
Really nice boat trip along the main canal

After I get off this one and find number 1 that goes in the right direction
Garbage shipGarbage ship
Garbage ship

We all need our garbage picked up


13th June 2022

venice memories
I loved looking at your photos and reading your story . I remember taking jordan there for her grad and I loved it there so I am so happy to hear you liked it better this time around. Smart to leave your suitcase at the train station. what a great idea as you would not want to lug anything around the alleyways of venice. Gosh it sure is pretty.

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb