Arriving at CIMBA


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Asolo
September 18th 2008
Published: September 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: The View 23 secs
The CIMBA carThe CIMBA carThe CIMBA car

Thought it was funny
Sept. 10

I took a taxi to the train station, then the train to CastelFranco, then a taxi to Asolo. When I was waiting at the taxi stand outside the train station in CastelFranco, I thought to myself "With my limited Italian, how in the world am I going to explain where CIMBA is?" Just then, a taxi arrived. He was loading my bags into the trunk when i said "A Asolo" While we were on the way, i decided i should probably try to explain. So i said "a la scola en Asolo. un collegio." (meaning: to the school in Asolo. a college.) Thinking "now i'm really going to have to explain this one," the driver exclaims "CIMBA?" To which i responded a very excited "si, si!' Awesome, he knows the school.

The little white taxi raced along the small road. I tried to see the shops that we passed, hoping that i might remember them in case i might need to know where a certain kind of store was. We were now on cobble stone and reached the center of Asolo. I recognized it from pictures of the large fountain with the winged
along the roadalong the roadalong the road

a main street in Asolo
lion on top. At this point we had already reached 130 kpm, and were going up a narrow channel. I have no idea how we didn't loose a mirror. At the top of the large hill sat the large cream colored monastery. From 1634-1807 it was the Benedictine Monastery, after that it was converted into the city's boarding school and headquarters, and now it is home to CIMBA's MBA program.

www.cimbaitaly.com I'm in the full-time MBA program if you'd like to check out the program.

I hauled my bags up the marble stairs and made it through the front door and to the main desk. I told Eliza I was here to see Tess. I waited around the front office, and now the sweat was starting to bead up on my face and arms. I was so tired of lugging that luggage around and I had the calaces on my palms to prove it. Tess came down to meet me. We chatted briefly and she told me I was going to be the first to move in. Just then, Dr Ringleb (the head honcho himself) walked in. He stuck out his hand and said "Al Ringleb. Pleased to
Out our front door.Out our front door.Out our front door.

Towering over the town of Asolo
meet you." "Leigh Woodruff, pleasure" I answered with my mind racing. I looked like crap in t-shirt and jeans, not to mention I was sweating like a pig. This is going to make an amazing first impression. "You ready for a year of hard work?" He said. "Yes, Sir!" I said trying to win points.

Tess and I took my stuff upsairs to room #14. It was at the end of a long hallway and away from the common room. Tess said it was one of the quieter rooms and that I would have great WiFi. 2 MAJOR PLUSES FOR ME, SO EXCITED!

We have STUNNING views from our windows. I was blown away. The view from the top of our hill is breathtaking!

The 2 pieces of luggage I had had shipped were sitting it my room. I was very happy to see them. The room seemed cozy and I instantly knew I wanted to rearrange the furniture. I changed into workout clothes and got to work. I took everything out, sorted them into piles, and put them away. The dorm was dark and quiet. I didn't like being there by myself. I was anxious to
THE HILLTHE HILLTHE HILL

Damm this hill! This is a major hill people. Because of this sucker, my hind end had better be rock'n when i get home.
meet the other students and no longer be on this journey alone.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The Bell TowerThe Bell Tower
The Bell Tower

This bell rings over and over a random times with no real system I can figure out.
Common Room WindowCommon Room Window
Common Room Window

Here is what i get to see EVERY morning as i walk into the kitchen.
Out the windowOut the window
Out the window

the common room views are the best


Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb