Padova, getting there and sleeping


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto
September 13th 2008
Published: September 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

TrainTrainTrain

Getting on my train
Sept. 9, 2008

I checked out of the Royal San Marco Hotel in Venice and had a porter meet me to take my bags to the Vaporragi (Water Bus) port. He came with a dolly, specially made for stairs. He also made sure to put me on the right bus for the train station. I had seen the station the day before on the boat tour, but wasn't 100% what the name of the that specific port was. I guarded my bags carefully and watched the locals and tourists load and unload. Many others had luggage. Along my journey, I had noticed a few people sizing up the amount of luggage I had brought. I had a medium sized wheeled piece, a duffel bag and a back pack. I didn't think it was really over the top. While on the water bus, I overheard a younger Italian man say to his friend "is she moving here?" I resisted the urge to respond "Si!"

After passing the stop for the Rialto, I felt we were getting close. Then, at a particular stop, I notice everyone with luggage getting ready to get off. That's good enough for me, so I followed
Is this right?Is this right?Is this right?

Look like I found the right one
them. And I happened to follow them straight to the train station. I quickly found a line to stand in for 45 mins. Guess how my my train ticket cost ... Go ahead guess ... €2.90! Not kidding!

I found my platform and boarded my train to Padova. It would only be an hour or less to Padova. I saw in silence watching things fly by. I got off on my stop and found my way to the taxi stand and explained where the Crowne Plaza was.

After checking in I received my key card. And then the trouble began. I rode up the elevator, drug my luggage down the hall, tried the card over and over. It didn't work. I went back down and told the receptionist. She fixed it and I went back up to try the card again. I tried it over and over again, and it still didn't work. I lugged my luggage down the elevator and told the receptionist again ... A manager walked my up the room and opened it immediately. I walked in a set down my stuff. I didn't have the courage to tell the manager that I had been
Posh BathroomPosh BathroomPosh Bathroom

Lov'n the bath tub and basin sink
trying 315 and not 314. Opps!

I ordered a pizza and got a coke out of the minibar. I called home and took a bath. I slept and slept and slept. The next day, I headed to school.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

BusinessBusiness
Business

Watching CNN World News and Skype'n too
AlleluiaAlleluia
Alleluia

I'm going to sleep and sleep and sleep


Tot: 0.221s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0677s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb