The hills are alive with the sound of St. Francis


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Umbria » Assisi
October 15th 2005
Published: October 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

AssisiAssisiAssisi

Are you feeling the love for Assisi yet
I am here in Assisi, which is just beautiful. Its a bit sunny for me, but most of those reading this blog would say it is beyond belief perfect weather. I guess we cant all love the rain. It really has been quite another religious experience for me. Everything is so quiet and calm. Just wonderful. I even went to church this morning (which was PACKED--hello its Saturday morning!). One thing about church. it was packed with all the die hard Italians and me, and all the tourists crowded around the gate to watch us freaks. There was not a vacant seat. So when everyone got up to go to communion, all the Japanese tourists crammed into our seats. what the? Dont worry some loud (though surprisingly small) Italian women hail Mary'd them outta there.

Then I gave myself a self guided (via my guide book) tour of the town. I ran into a bunch of people with the same guide book. I ended up just wandering with one couple. We went into one store that the book recommended to "try the fruity infusion", whatever that was. So we found some little mint looking things. Surely this must be the
How bout nowHow bout nowHow bout now

PAx people... paxxxxxx
fruity infusion. I popped one in my mouth and tried to let it melt. It didnt. About 2 seconds later, I found the fruity infusion (tea) and wondered what was in my mouth. It immediatly was deposited into the trash. I think it may have been incense or perhaps bath beads. Hmm.

So now I have some time to kill before my 4 course dinner (yummy) and I had to buy a minimum of 30 minutes of internet (when really I only needed 5 minutes to look up my next hostel).

Anyways, much love to you all and in the words of St. Francis--PAX!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

More PAXMore PAX
More PAX

Can you tell I am into the PAX
Beautiful Umbria Beautiful Umbria
Beautiful Umbria

Dont zworry... still in Assisi. I have gotten quite good at taking pictures of myself.
Feeling friskyFeeling frisky
Feeling frisky

Trying to not pose the same at all times


15th December 2005

Yay Assisi
It's good to see some more pictures of Assisi! I was there in May and I've lost all my pictures from the trip! Half of my group stayed at Casa Papa Giovanni's and the other half, me included, stayed at the hotel just down the street--Hotel Posta Panoramica? I loved the quiet town and the beautiful Church of St. Francis, and the Rocca Maggiore! We were there in time for the Corpus Christi Mass which was insane! There was a medieval festival and then the mass at night, then a procession into the piazza. It was amazing! Glad to see you had fun too! Happy Travels, Lauren

Tot: 0.343s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb