[The Italian Job]


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Pisa
June 5th 2009
Published: June 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ugh. Today was freaking nightmarish. First I get harassed on the train and then on the way home our train is over two hours late. BUT I saw the leaning tower of Pisa today ! And ate three cups of gelato... mint, fruit roll up, and chocolate. Amazing.

SO... my train incident. Luckily, I was traveling with Evelyn from Ireland at the time so I wasnt alone. We were sitting on the train about halfway to Pisa when two young guys get on at one of the stops. One of them didnt buy a ticket and is going around asking everyone if he can have theres. He comes to us and we both just said no right away, and then he sits across from me and says ooo bella mami, I love you. And hes a total creeper, and you can tell hes totally strung out on drugs of some kind. So anyway, he says a bunch of really disgusting and offensive things and we both just keep yelling vai via ! (Go Away!) and eventually were both just looking at each other like ... what the hell are we supposed to do ? After we yelled for about another minute or so he left and went into another car, and an Italian guy sitting a few seats ahead apologized and said he hoped we werent given the wrong impression of Italians because of this loser. He also told us a few choice words we could say in Italian to get the guy to leave, or at least grab someone elses attention.

And then he comes back, and hes even worse than before, and we cant get out of the seats because hes standing right in front of us, and eventually I just threw my hoodie up over my face, looked out the window and completely ignored him. I think at this point he was lifting up his shirt telling us to look at his "sexy italian abdominal muscles" when the nice Italian guy we were talking to before stood up and started yelling at him to leave, and that he is high on drugs and disturbing these nice girls and blah blah. Seriously... It was not cool. Im not usually one to shy away from confrontation but this guy was overly aggressive and obviously not in his right mind. Anyway, he took off, and when the train stopped we got off and realized he was walking after us on the platform, so we hopped back on the train and waited until he passed us before we got off again. Thats the only semi-scary thing thats happened to me yet and I really do not want a repeat, but honestly dont know how the situation would have been avoided.

ANYWAY... Im safe. I just hadto get that out because Im so annoyed by it.

Pisa was boring... Wejust wanted to see the tower, take pictures and leave. Im thinking about heading up to Cinque Terre tomorrow depending on the weather. Its been cloudy lately and I want it to be nice when I go. Tonight Evelyn and I are going to have a few drinks on the terrace as she leaves in the morning... Ive made such good friends while being here... Its great. People fromall over.

So that was my excitement for the day... month... year... whatever !

Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0898s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb