Chiantipsy Tour


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
June 5th 2009
Published: June 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The day before yesterday Adele from Texas and I signed up for a Tuscany wine tour. It was absolutely worth it. In the morning we met down at reception and once the group was ready we headed for the bus. Our tour guide was Australian-Italian and was studying culinary arts here in Florence. We took a bus 40 minutes into the Tuscan Countryside, Chianti. It was beautiful, and exactly like you imagine it to be... Rolling hills as far as you can see with so many different shades of green.

Our first stop was a castle/winery. We had a tour of the grounds, then saw the wine cellar, and then sat down to taste food and wine. Salami and cheeses, toasted bread with olive oil and garlic, and three different types of wine. The guide also explained how youre actually supposed to taste wine, and I was amazed. SO different then just taking a sip, (and for me, trying to swallow without making a funny face.) We were there for about an hour and then got back onto the bus to head for lunch. We went to this little place (another winery) that also housed a restaurant, and had lunch then wandered the grounds, and tasted another 3 wines. I took tons of pictures and we just relaxed in the grass enjoying the view.

After lunch we headed to the town of Grieve and wandered around for a while, looking in the different shops and enjoying the sunshine. When we were done there, we went to a grappa distillery. EEK. Tasted grappa with 60% alcohol... Thought I was going to die. I couldnt even finish it, seriously... I thought I was going to cry. But then we had some dark chocolate, and a shot of ameretto ... Yum ! Everyone (except me because I could NOT drink the red wine) was tipsy, and fell asleep on the bus ride home... I just enjoyed the view. Adele and I went for dinner at a little place down the way when we got back and I had the most amazing mussels ever.

We spent the night downstairs at the bar with our other roomate, a girl from Ireland named Evelyn. We had made friends on the tour so eventually we all grouped together... It was great ! Its so nice meeting people from all over.

............................................................................................................................................................................

Yesterday we went to Uffizi Gallery to see all the artwork and do the tourist thing... Spent some time in Italy H&M where I bought a shirt, then took it easy the rest of the day. We went and had something small for dinner and then sat out on the terrace upstairs to enjoy the sunset. Eventually a couple people from our tour came up, and suddenly the place was packed. At midnight they move the bar downstairs where they have this little dance floor with disco balls, and then places to eat and play pool etc etc. SO funny... This guy who was on the tour with us and was completely antisocial (Like, not one word spoken,ever) was SO drunk... He ripped his shirt off on the dance floor and was pulling the most hilarious dance moves ever. There was a group surrounding him taking pictures, so amusing.

Eventually another girl from the US, Katie and I decided to head back to our rooms (I forgot to mention this, but somehow got a freaking sinus infection and the back of my throat & nose have hurt SO badly for the past three days, so I havent been feeling very well.) On our way up the stairs the bartender knocks on the window seperating the stairwell from the bar and motions us to come back. This is the same guy who works in the restaurant here and serves me dinner every night. So I shake my head and mouth the word bed, and he keeps shaking his head and beckoning us to come over,and Kate and I think, okay, maybe were in trouble for something ? So we go back in, and he leans over and the following conversation ensues...

Me: Umm... Whats up?
Bartender: Let me ask you a question
Me: Umm... Okayyy...?
Bartender: You are so beautiful (Said in a cheesy Italian accent) How come you are never smiling ?
Me: What ? I smile all the time !
Bartender: No. You do not smile at me. I smile at you throughout the day and you turn away, never smiling at me, what is wrong with me, why do you not smile ?
- At this point I was trying so hard not to laugh I think my eyes were watering a little bit
Me: Um... Im sorry? Ill smile at you tomorrow at lunch !
Bartender shakes his head, looking down sighing and saying tsk...never smiling.

It was one of my most hilarious encounters yet. I didnt even know what to say... I mean... What do you say to that !

............................................................................................................................................................................

And today - Off to Pisa to see the leaning tower !


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb