Chianti - Day 1 to 3


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Gaiole in Chianti
March 13th 2011
Published: March 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Day One
The train is speeding through the grey sites of northern England and I begin to think that it has been almost 3 years since I decided that I had had enough of spending my life on the motorway, quit my job and flew off to the other side of the world.

I have spent most of my life travelling in some form or another- mostly for work, but never found a place to really call home.

My best friend Jaime and I have backpacked around New Zealand and Europe, but now we are striking out with an all together new adventure.
In November last year we applied for a position to manage a 1000 year old farmhouse with acres of Olive tree groves & woodlands in the Chianti region of Tuscany.
I have once again packed up my belongings, stored them and decided on the things I just can’t live without…or in other words how many pairs of shoes I can fit into my luggage.

I am 35 years old now, should I really be running away on a romantic notion that Italy may be the place to call home……well, the only way I am ever going to find out is by taking a leap of faith…..close your eyes now….and…….JUMP!

So where was I…oh yes, on a train heading for London Kings Cross Station. After Kings Cross it’s a one hour tube ride to Heathrow Airport, an over night stay in a Hotel and then tomorrow a short 2 hour flight to Pisa.
The couple who own the property are meeting us at Pisa airport where we will then share a hire car for the windy 2 hour drive to the sleepy little village we’ll call home from now on. Gaiole in Chianti – voted by Forbes the most idyllic place to live in the word…..Sounds good – doesn’t it?

Day 2
The hotel was surprisingly nice for the budget price we paid. The shuttle bus free and easy, the plane on time and comfortable and finally the hire car big enough to fit all four of us and our luggage.
Any complaints – well yes ITS FREEZING COLD!
The house has been empty for about a month and although there is a central heating system, the radiators are tiny for the size of the rooms and we are walking around wearing hats & gloves in doors. BRRRRR!

Day 3
Still cold! Yes I know, I am turning into a whinge bucket but it really is cold.
We ventured for a little walk around the property this morning but were soon chased back in doors by the heavy rain and wind.
Although some positives to report – it is very peaceful, there’s lots of scorching hot water for nice showers and bubble baths and as we arrived yesterday we saw a little deer scampering across the gardens.
It can only get better (weather permitting).

More pics to come when the rains stop (I hope)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.363s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.2852s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb