I have arrived! Molto buono!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
October 10th 2015
Published: September 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

My hostess NicolettaMy hostess NicolettaMy hostess Nicoletta

We enjoyed the best margharita pizza here.
Geo: 43.7687, 11.2569

Well, I just wrote a long description of my day and it disappeared.... not sure where it went will give a recap. If this one doesn't make it then oh well...

Had to check my carry on in Amsterdam as it was too large for the city hopper plane, when we arrived in Florence it took 25-30 minutes to make it to the arrival luggage carousel, one of the reasons I don't like checking baggage, I'm too impatient! Anyway after this found the ATM machine and made withdrawals with both cards, went into the bathroom to put on my money belt and put the extra cash, atm cards, cc card, etc... into just in case I'm recognized as a tourista and someone wants to part my money from me they won't get much in my purse ;-)

Took a taxi to the apartment, had a woman taxi driver for the first time, she found the apt easily and it was the best 23 euros spent, not having to navigate the bus and streets after being up for around 24 hours was great. My hostess is very nice, she is the only one living here, she made me some tea and offered me food, showed me my room and own bathroom. It's very clean and only about a 25-minute walk to my school and the center of everything. She showed me where the grocery store, bus stop, and the street to walk down to get to the school which is really a straight shot from here. She will make me breakfast but then I'm on my own for the other meals.

I then walked around for a while, it has rained the entire day, my umbrella is a bit worse for the wear, but I noticed many umbrellas looking like mine, a little sloppy on one side after the wind takes care of it! Found the school, walked around the beautiful Duomo and looked down the small side streets, took some photos but they took too long to download so will try again tomorrow. Got back to the apartment around 4:30 ish? took a long nap, my hostess took me to her favorite pizza place, had the best Margherita pizza ever, I put Picante oil on mine for a little spice, she added olive oil to hers, it was delizioso! Came back got ready for the evening and now am ready to go to bed. So happy I don't start school in the morning, will try to sleep in, planning on taking a couple of the free walking tours tomorrow, will see how those go and let you know.

Buona notta!

Updated and added some photos I took yesterday, they take a long time to upload so not sure how many will get put in here, some of these are for my grandkids as I think they'll be more interested in some of them than others will be!



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Another of the gatesAnother of the gates
Another of the gates

To get to the language school, I go through both of these gates, they must at one time been at the ends of the city.
Lots of bikesLots of bikes
Lots of bikes

Lots of bikes and cigarettes, don't remember so much smoking last time.
The worn stone steps to the apartmentThe worn stone steps to the apartment
The worn stone steps to the apartment

On the third floor so there are 6 of these to climb, would hate to fall down them...


11th October 2015

Looks like a great start to your visit! That pizza looks fabulous :) Praying the weather will be nicer or your umbrella holds out! The boys are looking forward to lots of pictures and impatiently awaiting your return to take them to BK, lol
:D
13th October 2015

Hi April, thanks for the message! Tell the boys that I'm thinking of them and taking pictures of things I think they would be interested in, they can let me know which ones they like. Can't wait to take them to BK too! Love, Nonna

Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0918s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb