First Weekend in Italy


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
May 30th 2011
Published: May 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well today I was walking down the street when all of a sudden I saw the "situation". I didn't even realize it was him untill someone else from my group informed me (never seen the show). It was kinda strange, he was just sitting there on via San Gallo smoking a cigarette and all these video people were filming. I could have walked up to say hi but I had to get to class. Now for some better stories! The Italian people are quite friendly. Much better than my experience with the Germans. Everytime that German lady came on the PA system on the plane I thought she was telling us we were crashing, she just sounded so angry. I went to the Gelato Festival the other night. I made friends with the lady who sells tickets, she taught me that "farta" is how you say cool, so I just kept repeating it. I also made friends with the lady who works at this one pizza place. I have been there twice and she remembers me and smiles whenever I attempt to speak italian. She sometimes will give us free samples. This past weekend was amazing! We rode bikes on the walls of Lucca. It was such an awesome adventure. The people in that town were the nicest Italians I have ever met. We also went to a mountain town called Montevergioni, I think thats how they called it, not sure. We also did Siena and Pisa. Siena was cool, I learned a lot of interesting facts about the town and walked down random alleys. Pisa is nice, but doesn't have anything other than the leaning tower. Here you have to pay to use public bathrooms most places! SO STRANGE, I pay like 60 euro cents and they give me a ticket to use a stall. And I still haven't tried out the bidet even though we have one. Today was my first day of classes. International Marketing is probably going to be one of the best classes I've ever taken. The teacher is hilarious and tells us how she once ate dinner with a leader of the mafia, but didn't realize it. Renaissance history is completely boring, but I think were going on a field trip most days so that will be fun. So far, I have made some amazing friends. I go out with these people most nights to a bar or to get gelato. So many fun adventures, and I enjoy just sitting out on our patio and watching the stars at night. This next weekend, I will be going to Rome. I'll keep you updated! Ciao!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb