Firenze, Italia


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
July 31st 2008
Published: July 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ciao! We left Rome yesterday and arrived in Florence, or Firenze. Our hotel truly is amazing...its a cheap, 2 star budget hotel that I think we nabbed for like 20 euro a night. Our room is at the top floor and it has a door to the rooftop terrace. It isnt our own terrace, everyone can use it, but its nice to have access to it from our room. The best part is, it overlooks the Duomo, which is one of the largest cathedrals in the world, and the main architectural point of interest in Florence. It is pretty much a stones throw away which is amazing. Last night we had some delicious authentic Italian pizza and a bottle of wine out there and realized that we are truly livin the life out here.

Today we went to see Michaelangelos David. I told my mom before we left that I wasnt necessarily planning on seeing it...I mean, whats one more statue right? She convinced me to go, just to see for myself, and I am SO glad I did. Ian and I stood in awe of its beauty and massive size for awhile. I had no idea it was so big! There were also unfinished Michaelangelo statues in the corridor leading up to David which were very interesting because he carved them all out of one piece of stone, so the unfinished ones looked as though they were slowly coming to life, but were left hanging, stuck in time. Neat stuff. You cant take pictures in these places, which I HATE, haha, but I picked up a postcard.

For the rest of the day we are heading to some Basilica that has a staircase that Michaelangelo designed. There is a lot to see here in Florence, but it all costs money, which we have to use sparingly. I feel content though, with having seen David and the Duomo and all that and have a feeling we will spend tonight with dinner and wine on the terrace overlooking the Duomo again.

Temperatures have been in the 90s here. Ian and I actually brought an umbrella with us to shade us from the sun like old people do, haha. We only had to wait about an hour in line for David, though, so we got lucky I think. And it was in the shade. Score!

They have a lot of gelato and slushy drinks here and they are delicious. We dont eat very much when it is hot so slushies are yummy.

Tomorrow we leave here and head to Pisa for the afternoon before going off to Cinque Terre!! Love you all and will see you in less than a month now!!

Advertisement



2nd August 2008

Broke yet?
so i know you guys are running low on moolah so ill see you soon

Tot: 0.244s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0608s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb