Sardinia, Italy


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Sardinia
October 2nd 2009
Published: September 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 40.0666, 8.9795

<u>October 2, 2009 ~ Sardinia, Italy</u>

Today the ship docked at the island of Sardinia, Italy. From our balcony, Sardinia looked exactly like Genoa, Italy (which is a good thing).  We were all given maps of Cagliria, the city where the ship docked, and were bused out of the port to main street.  Hubby & I began walking and I felt like I had a fever and sick to my stomach.  So, we walked until we found a little supermarket and he bought me a tea.  It was sweet and horrible.  I pitched it and minutes later we just happened to walk by a little vending area where for 0.50 Euro (like 50 cents), I got a bottled water.  I drank most of it and began feeling much better.  We walked to see what we could see. We ended-up walking by many, many churches today.  The island is laid-out quite nicely, the streets are clean, and the people are very friendly and welcoming ~ something I didn't necessary feel in Spain.  In Italy, and especially on this island, they welcomed us and were incredibly friendly and struck-up conversations with us at almost every store.  Hubby & I walked in and out of many shops today and twice we were asked what state in America we were from, what the weather was like where we lived, etc.  It was just a good feeling.  The weather was nice, too ~ 68 and partially sunny with a good breeze ~ we enjoyed it thoroughly.  We sat on a park bench for a long time, just watching people.  We bought our obligatory magnet (from every dock we have bought one) and a couple of souvenirs today.  We also found a second item for our home that I am super-tickled about because I had a picture in my mind of something I wanted someday and we just happened to find one on our honeymoon ~ and we only found one shop with these so I was excited ~ it's a very heavy, mosaic, leave-shaped tray ~ I don't know how else to describe it except it looks like a piece of art and we are going to put it on a side entrance table in our living room and put keys in it.  I'm sure the men reading this will be baffled but the women will get it! Ha  Anyway, I love it and it's just awesome and one of those rare things to find and we luckily found it in Italy!  Ooooh La La

So, we walked all over the city of Cagliari, Italy, bought a few items, and sat on another park bench for a bit before finally boarding the bus to return to the boat.  We came onboard and ordered room service ~ turkey sandwich for me, chicken drumettes for Hubby (which were really like BBQ wings with blue cheese) and two iced teas.  A friend we met onboard, Howard, told us to try the drumettes  ~ and they were fabulous!  We ate and took a nap ~ something we've gotten good at doing on this fabulous honeymoon. 

Tonight was formal night so we drug ourselves out of bed ~ and Hubby was quite the bear about it all ~ but we got ready and went to dinner.  We were a bit late but two of our tablemates were even later than us.  We had another wonderful evening of conversation with Elaina and Martin from Britain ~ we just love them!  They are very interesting.  Hubby told jokes, they shared details of their lives and we of our life.. it was nice.  I took my camera to the table and took a few pics.  We had formal pics made also.  Tonight I had a mushroom and pastry appetizer (soooo wonderful) along with prime rib and veggies plus a dessert trio of a baby chocolate tart, cheesecake, and donuty-thing.  It was allll good.  Hubby had an odd-looking soup that he said wasn't very good, plus a prime rib and potatoes and veggies. 

So, we had a wonderful dinner, got some formal pics made, and went walking the Royal Promenade where I bought a Royal Caribbean t-shirt.  We then went and got some free "Seattle's Best" coffee which they have on the Royal Promenade.  We wondered around the ship and came up to the 19th hole a little after midnight ~ and it was PACKED ~ they were having an Italian karaoke night ~ so we found a little spot and listened ~ It was hilarious for Hubby & I ~ we kept trying to figure out what song they were singing ~ the first one was by Chicago “Lost in Love” ~ it was soooo funny!  We left after 1am and the place was still packed.  We went back to the room where I went to sleep and Hubby read on the balcony. 

Bughdaboobee ~ got that?  Apparently, Hubby watched a Family Guy episode where Peter was impersonating an Italian guy and he kept yelling “Bughdaboobee” from the balcony to the pedestrians.  Yesterday, after we got back on the ship and had some room service, Hubby was on the balcony relaxing and reading and I had just started my nap when I hear Kamie yelling “Bughdaboobee” from the balcony ~ I just laughed in my near-asleep state.  Earlier, he was waving at everyone.  You see, our balcony is always directly over where people leave and enter the ship at the ports.  Yesterday, he was waving at people and they were waving back and he was generally being a big cut-up ~ but the Bughdaboobee cracked me up ~ because Hubby (nor I) has no clue what it means ~ but it sorta sounds to me like he's playing “Badapoopie”  God only knows what those Italians must think of us!

So, today was a wonderful day of sightseeing another beautiful Italian city, enjoying some excellent conversations and a very warm welcome from many shopkeepers, purchasing some great little finds, having a fantastic dinner while being all gussied-up, and going to bed feeling warm and happy.  We couldn't ask for a nicer honeymoon…

Advertisement



Tot: 0.246s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb