When in Rome...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
April 19th 2012
Published: July 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Piazza BarberiniPiazza BarberiniPiazza Barberini

The Piazza near our hotel, Daphne Inn Veneto. Our hotel was up one of the blocks in the background. There were restaurants and stores surrounding the piazza. It is right down the street from Trevi Fountain.
Geo: 41.8955, 12.4823

When in Rome, do as the Romans. Try not to look like a tourist. You'll be an easy target for crime and you won't get treated as well. I did a lot of research about how to dress and act. No printed "American" tshirts and NO flip flops. Italians take pride in their dress though simple. Nicer shoes and nicer jeans or pants. I actually packed for my husband. I didn't let him take his tennis shoes. He has a nicer pair of walking shoes. I bought kitten heels because it is difficult walking on the cobblestone and they are easier on the feet while still looking nice.

Don't bring a huge suitcase if you aren't staying in one location. It is difficult to drag it around, put it in tiny taxis and to drag down a narrow train isle. We brought oversized wheeled duffle bags. I packed 3 weeks worth of clothes in it with 6 pairs of shoes. I did just fine.

We stayed at the Daphne Inn Veneto. It was the perfect little place off of Piazza Barberini. Picturesque and safe. There were shops and restaurants all around our hotel. The hotel was small and
PizzaPizzaPizza

We ate our first slice of pizza and it was delicious.
quaint but so Rome. We loved it.

I have to say, I started out feeling like Rome was way to touristy and I was disappointed until..we plopped ourselves in front of the Pantheon at a little cafe and had ourselves a glass of wine. Then I relaxed and let Rome happen. The Pantheon is in amazing condition for how old it is. It was wonderful sitting across from it and watching the city go by.

We wandered and meandered up and down streets, snacked and sat. Wonderful. The streets looked exactly like the pictures you see. Romantic and beautiful. The pizza...delicious.




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Piazza di TreviPiazza di Trevi
Piazza di Trevi

A spectacular as it is, you will be sharing it with crowds of people. No romance there. There are actually hundreds of people around us. Deceiving. Very cool though. We threw our coins in to ensure our return to Rome. I think I threw a piece of my heart in because I still long to go back.
Breakfast in RomeBreakfast in Rome
Breakfast in Rome

Our hotel had a nice little breakfast spread in the morning. Mind you, breakfasts there mean sweet rolls and maybe a few slices of meat. I'm good as long as I have coffee. Cappuccino in the AM and espresso in the PM by etiquette.
Vatican, We CanVatican, We Can
Vatican, We Can

Awesome to visit the Vatican though a little more touristy than I thought it would be. We booked the Scavi tour ahead of time so we got the less touristy tour in the archeological dig below the Vatican.
Wine with Your Pantheon.Wine with Your Pantheon.
Wine with Your Pantheon.

Enjoying the view of the Pantheon while sipping a little wine.
Wine and WatchWine and Watch
Wine and Watch

In Rome you must just sit back, relax and watch it go by. Ahhh.


Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.019s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb