Crypts


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
September 18th 2006
Published: September 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

BonesBonesBones

AGH! The bones still left under the temple!
Today Emilio took us to these crypts *agh! I forgot the name*. It was so cool! It was the underground remains of a Pagan Temple. If you don't know, and don't feel bad b/c I didn't at first, Rome's anitquities are in layers underneath the city because of all the amounts of flooding, damaging, and rebuildin that has been done over the history of Rome. So a lot of ancient finds and buildings are underground.

Emilio took us inside this beautiful church, and then he asked for a lady there to unlock the gates for us to go underground to see the pagan remains. It was just like being in a Dan Brown novel except well written. 😊

It was dark, damp, and smelled like dirt *to state the obvious*. But Emilio was cracking me up because he would walk in front of us, and if we got behind taking pictures he would wait in a cove and just gasp. It was really funny and all in good nature. He kept saying "it's so spooooky!" and he's just like having a silly Italian uncle or something. Hahaha..

One of the places where the Pagans worshipped there still had remains of the bones! You can see that in my picture. It was pretty spooky down there, but really cool. It makes me wonder what all is underneath Rome and what has left to be discovered.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

WowzaWowza
Wowza

Erin and I: just chillin in some Pagan Temples, you know...
Church on TopChurch on Top
Church on Top

The church built on top of the temple, and sits at ground level today
Church on TopChurch on Top
Church on Top

The columns still remain outside of the building from the Pagan temple
ProtestProtest
Protest

There's always some kind of protest. This was right outside of the church, I'm still not sure what they were protesting.
My balconyMy balcony
My balcony

It rained so hard that even after it stopped, there was a steady stream


27th September 2006

Emilio
Emilio is so cute. le sigh.
27th September 2006

Am loving the pictures. I thought I would leave a comment, being your real favorite sister. I miss you much. I always want to call you, but it's usually really late, so hopefully I can get everything together and call you some afternoon my time and it will be evening your time. Love you!

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb