Roma!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
July 7th 2006
Published: July 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Papa!Papa!Papa!

The Pope, when he rode by us at the Papal Audience!
Well, I hope that this post works for everyone. I hear that there have been difficulties logging on to my site (not that there is much to see here yet...) so I apologize!

My Dad and I just found an internet cafe for the first time, so here is an overview of the time here in Rome, along with a few pictures!

Upon arrival in Rome, we encountered our first new experience when traveling to the hotel. We were in a car (limo service...because all of the taxis are on strike!) and I can't remember a more hair-raising experience! There are no lanes or speed limits here... people pretty much drive anywhere and everywhere (sidewalks included) that there happens to be a space at the time. Also, a lot of people (about half?) use motopeds, and so they weave in and out of traffic (going both with and against traffic) like none other. I definitely could not drive here..!

Wednesday morning we attended the Papal audience. There were readings read and Pope Benedict XVI talked to everyone in 6 different languages, so that was neat! We then walked around Rome for the next 4 hours. I think we
The Vatican...and meThe Vatican...and meThe Vatican...and me

This is on a bridge with St. Peter's Dome in the background. My face is red because I am burnt and it is 95 degrees outside.
must have gone about 4-5 miles in the heat that afternoon by the time we arrived at the Villa Borghese at 4:30. Thatafternoon we walked from the Vatican to Piazza Novona (and watched the Police chase all of the illegal vendors around in their police car) to the Pantheon (took an audio tour of it that was quite informative) and then to Borghese, where we concluded our afternoon by taking a 30 minute "shortcut." oops.

We met Nate and his family at the Villa Borghese, and then went out to dinner with them at a really cute, small Italian restaurant. We headed to the Metro stop after eating (around 10:10) to go back to the hotel, only to find that it was closed. We were in an area where we didn't know the bus routes at all, and, well... 2 hour and 10 minutes, 3 bus rides, about 2 miles of walking, and countless discussions with all of the other people who were lost (because there are no taxis, many people were using the buses who wouldn't normall be) we finally arrived back at our hotel. Oh... also, the buses had about 100+ people on them, and I think
Ready, Aim, Don't Fire!!Ready, Aim, Don't Fire!!Ready, Aim, Don't Fire!!

We encountered these guys on our route from the Piazza Novona to Villa Borghese. Gun laws are a little different here...
if we had been any closer we might not have been able to breathe. Dad was by the door, and he kept getting hit in the face every time the door tried to open...

Thursday we went on the Scavi Tour, which is below St. Peter's and we got to see the tomb of St. Peter, along with many other cool things- itwas incredible to see the history! We also toured upper St. Peter's, a Vatican Museum (I question some of the articles...but that is a thought to ponder later!), climbed the dome to the top of St. Peter's, and basically did all of the amazing sites at the Vatican.

Today we had a really good tour of the Colleseum and Roman Forum, and are walking by some churches before heading back. Two of the churches are St. Peter in Chains (containing the chains St. Peter wore while in prision) and Santa Maria Maggigore (sorry- I don't know how to spell that!)

Well- I am sorry this is so long, I will hopefully be able to post a little more frequently in the future and will try and make them shorter! I am now going to attempt
View from our hotelView from our hotelView from our hotel

This was taken at night (obviously) from the 9th floor of our Hilton Rome Cavalieri,looking over the city.
to upload some pictures too...but since this is my first time, they will probably just all be in a lump at the bottom!

O- and the only downside so far... I think I ruined my camera. A water bottle leaked (aka: completely emptied) in my purse and soaked it. I will see tomorrow if it will still turn on or not. (And Maria, don't worry- your purse is fine, and actually quite water proof...)

Bye!



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

PopeJohn Paul IIPopeJohn Paul II
PopeJohn Paul II

This is JPII's tomb at the Vatican...pretty amazing to visit him!
On top of St. Peter'sOn top of St. Peter's
On top of St. Peter's

I took this after my 525 step climb to the top of St. Peter's...
Dinner with the HendersonsDinner with the Hendersons
Dinner with the Hendersons

Inside the restaurant with Nate and his family. It was recommended by a guy on the street (who we found out later was an owner)...but it was great!
My new friend...My new friend...
My new friend...

We got FREE pictures with the gladiator since we were on a tour. Oh boy!!
Dad and his... not-so-friendDad and his... not-so-friend
Dad and his... not-so-friend

Dad didn't appreciate the picture quite as much as I did.
Roman ForumRoman Forum
Roman Forum

Dad andI at the Roman Forum.
ColosseumColosseum
Colosseum

Looking down into the Colosseum.
St. Peter in ChainsSt. Peter in Chains
St. Peter in Chains

These were the shackles that St. Peter wore while in prison, before being executed.


8th July 2006

helo
Nila - I got to your posting with no trouble and all the pictures came through just fine. It sounds like you're having a great time. Looks like Wain will have surgery on Monday. Love, janie
8th July 2006

Great pictures!
JMJ IHM Hi there! It's great to hear from you... sounds like you are having an amazing trip, even with all the mishaps and such ;-). Great pictures!! I'm pretty jealous. Dallas just isn't the same as Rome. Take care, you're in my prayers! Safe travels.
8th July 2006

Ouch!!
Looks like your Dad is in serious pain ;). Looks pretty awesome, have tons of fun!! I'll be seeing ya.
8th July 2006

Wow, Nila! Your pics are awesome! It's great to hear that you made it over there A-OK and are enjoying yourself. I would agree - the driving is nothing short of insane. Yikes! Keeping soaking up the history, and maybe not so much of the sun!! =)
17th July 2006

whisked away
It's great reading your journals. I know exactly what you're talking about with all the Italian experiences. Isn't it fun? Well, maybe not when you're there, but you know what I mean. I'm definatly going to have to get some more detail on the Rome trip (as you might already know) but it's great to hear everything went so well and you're getting to see what you've wanted! Stay safe - I'm so proud of my little sis.
2nd August 2006

The world was created for the sake of the Church
JMJ - IHM - Wow Nila! I love hearing about your trip, especially Rome. What a gift this trip is for you. God is so good! I hope you continue to have a great time and I look forward to catching up when you get back. The tomb of JPII the Great and the current Holy Father rock my socks off. You're so cool. Tell Nate hi from Nate. Ave Maria!

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 18; dbt: 0.0173s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb