When in Rome, roam ...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
June 16th 2011
Published: July 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

my bedmy bedmy bed

my hostel dorm room bed - home for the next 5 nights
Thursday.
It's hot! And it was hot last night in the dorm room. No air con. Slept ok no snores in the room just a little outside traffic noise.
I think the hostel has changed hands since I stayed here last year, it seems to have come down a few notches, but at 26euro per night it's still one of the cheapest beds in Rome. They still offer continental breakfast - stale bread with butter and jam and weak coffee, but at least it's something to start the day with. Shower was hot with lots of pressure so that made me happy. :-)


I have no plans for today just going to walk around. After last years visit I am semi comfortable about my way around Rome from the hostel starting point. So I spent the day roaming Rome. Very hot and as usual crowded with many tourists.
Not happy that my new camera has died, but I dragged it around for the day as it has moments of co-operation where it will agree to take a snap or two.

By the end of the day I was shattered. Hostel was offering free pizza for dinner
Trevi FountainTrevi FountainTrevi Fountain

my favorite place in all of Rome - Trevi Fountain
so I purchased some cheap supermarket beers and took advantage of the free food. Not the best meal, but it was free. After my time in Czech I am really feeling the difference in prices of everything here in Italy compared to there.

Quite night in tonight, I'm going to do some washing in the shower and head off to bed.

Only had one ice cream today - think it was just too hot even for ice cream. Lucky there are water fountains all over the city that gives potable water - otherwise I would be spending a fortune on bottle water.



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

crowd at Trevicrowd at Trevi
crowd at Trevi

as usual look as the huge crowd around Trevi Fountain
Spanish StepsSpanish Steps
Spanish Steps

another place that always attracts the crowds
National MonumentNational Monument
National Monument

Monumento Nazionale a Vittorio Emanuele II (National Monument of Victor Emmanuel II) or Altare della Patria (Altar of the Fatherland) or "Il Vittoriano" is a monument to honour Victor Emmanuel, the first king of a unified Italy, located in Rome, Italy.
random statuerandom statue
random statue

just to give you an idea of the size of some of these statues compared to a car
ancient advertisingancient advertising
ancient advertising

statue is holding a can of rexona!
hehehehehehe
hehehe

clever graffiti of no entry sign
ice creamice cream
ice cream

only had one today
lunchlunch
lunch

giant


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 43; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb