Exit Czech, enter Italy!


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » South Moravian Region » Brno
June 15th 2011
Published: July 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Early start this morning, I have a few hours traveling before I reach Brno where I will be flying from tonight.
I caught the 8.19 bus from Lenka’s place into Opava where I had a short walk to the train station and a little wait for the 9.27 train from Opava to Ostrava. Then I boarded the 10.45 train to Brno. It was raining part of the way but by the time we reached Czech’s second largest city it was again sunny and hot. I was able to store my bag at the train station (after begging for change to put in the coin slot) and go out exploring the town a little. I have most of the day before my flight this evening, so I spent the time wandering around the city. Seemed I was the only tourist here, not really a big tourist attraction is the city of
Brno.

I managed to find where the airport bus would take me from the city to the airport for just a few kc saving a costly taxi fare. At the airport I decided to treat myself to one last Czech pivo! Usually purchases at any airport are way out of
last pivolast pivolast pivo

last beer purchased at the airport
my budget but here in the land of reasonably priced beer the cost of a glass of beer was less than I would pay just about anywhere in the world. So I bought my last beer and sat and thoroughly enjoyed it. I sat sipping and remembering with fondness my visit to Czech Republic. It had been a very enjoyable 2 weeks and I would like to thank my friend Lenka for without her acquaintance I possibly would not have ever visited this wonderful country. But now that I have I shall return – as it has been added to next year’s itinerary!



So next stop, Rome.
The flight was delayed by 20 minutes but managed to land at 9pm, 5 minutes ahead of schedule. I had to wait for my bag which took ages so missed the 10pm shuttle into town. Next bus was an hour away at 11pm but my only other option was to pay for a taxi which was not going to happen so wait I did.
It was after midnight when I reached the hostel and imagine how happy the other occupants of my pre-booked dorm room were when I turned on the light. But this was a necessity as I need to find out which bed was empty so I could crash on it, which took about 20 seconds and I was asleep!





Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

door knockerdoor knocker
door knocker

now this is the most magnificent knocker I have seen
BrnoBrno
Brno

this was a building on the main square of Brno, I loved the sculptures
what's next?what's next?
what's next?

this is the same face I had after a few beers, wondering where I was supposed to be or go!!!


21st July 2011

Delay
I'm not sure what is happening here? Your blogs seem to be delayed several weeks after the event. There must be some kind of cyber delay... Nice pics of food and beer. I recon you should you have had a couple of beers on your journey. Nice pics in general.
24th July 2011

the delay is me
I'm still catching up on blogs and am backdating them from when they are relevant!!

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0808s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb