Day 2 in Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
June 4th 2008
Published: November 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The walk to the VaticanThe walk to the VaticanThe walk to the Vatican

We enjoyed the 20min walk to the Vatican from our hotel.
We woke up early and my honey brought me up coffee and breakfast up to our terrace room (and up the mile of steps). I had booked us 3 tours with "Through Eternity Tours" about a month prior and we had our first one booked for the Vatican at 10am. Our tour guide was Rob (from the states) and he did an awesome job-our tour actually lasted longer than it was supposed to and ended around 6pm. He really loves what he does and boy, did we have lots to see!!!! Walked and walked and walked and we just absorbed all the sites....I was in awe.
We had supper at an outdoor restaurant just off the Piazza Navona (wonderful atmosphere). Afterwards we walked around and looked at all the different vendors and had gelato (soon to become a habit).


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

On way to vaticanOn way to vatican
On way to vatican

Lots of beautiful buildings
When in Rome...When in Rome...
When in Rome...

I was trying to snap a picture of some priests without them noticing....is that bad?
Door #1Door #1
Door #1

One of many doorways I became obsessed over
Tour GuideTour Guide
Tour Guide

Rob from "Through Eternity Tours"
My favourite placeMy favourite place
My favourite place

I loved this spot at the Vatican...I believe it was called the Hall of Maps (?)
PeoplePeople
People

The tour guide said that this was a "quiet" day....alrighty then....
Vatican ChapelVatican Chapel
Vatican Chapel

You are my Sunshine, my only Sunshine, you make me happy.. : ))


Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0179s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb