First 2 days in Roma


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
September 30th 2008
Published: September 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Made was to my apt when i arrived, taxis are generally oly e40 from either airport and shouldnt cost more then that. Ask quanto costa (how much) to all taxis before you get in, general rule of thumb.

after nearly getting scammed by 2 people i was lucky to get offered apartment from my new manager, its very central and very cheap. My room is huge and i share the spat with 4 others, 2 italians, one lad from romanian and one from bucharest.

The things that i wasnt expecting was the essential things that ye dont bring with ye. When i arrived at apt, it was late at night so i had no options to but the things that werent in the room like....pillow, blanket, clothes hangers, iron...other things i needed was towels, cups, lock for me bedroom door. Spent the first night sleeping in my clothes and using my hoody as a blanket, For my first night, already being uncomfortable being away from home, this wasnt making the move much easier.

Spent the day today shopping, finding my way around, eating pizza in the many pizza shops, drinking coffee in the little cafes speckled around every street and practising my italian on everyone. Generally people are welcoming to me when im trying to use italian, although i can ask the question, ive no idea what the answer do be....im like- did he just call me fat 😊
during my meal i spent the time translating the menu...and one thing translated as 'herpes' as you can imagine...i didnt order that.

The funniest thing im finding about here is while travelling and sitting in cafes, im listening to people conversations and trying to translate what best i can...and the assumptions of conversations i come up with are funny....one i assumed today was that this woman was telling her friend she was closing and opening her cake...i dont knwo how one does that but im sure she said nothing near what i interpreted.

tomorrow im going to do a few of the touristy things and go to the opera. Starting work on Thursday so ill prob write up again next week about how that goes.

Arrivederci a tutti!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb