Backlog of Europe: Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
March 15th 2004
Published: September 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I’m backlogging some of my previous travels in Europe from when I was in high school and college. They won’t contain much information as it was a while ago, but I would be more than happy to share my experiences with anyone who has a question.

The history of this city is absolutely stunning, like nowhere else I have experienced. For hundreds of years it was the center of the known universe; and I mean that literally as the world was still the center at that time. While it is completely overrun with tourists, it is a must do, in my opinion. It isn’t the easiest for backpackers, as “budget” doesn’t really exist, but it is still worth doing in rapid speed if it is an option.

I also had the chance to visit Florence while in Italy. It is American college kids galore. In the tourist area, I swear there are more American college students than Italians and other tourists. If you are looking for a party scene similar to that of the U.S.’s East Coast, go for it. If not, I would suggest staying outside of this area, seeing what you would like to, and then moving on.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0687s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb