o, get ready for some pictures!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
September 5th 2005
Published: September 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

my first daylight view of romemy first daylight view of romemy first daylight view of rome

this is what i see out my window. notice that you can see the manmade banks of the tiber.
we had orientation today, and i have almost unlimited access to the school computers and a folder with 4 gigs of memory, so prepare yourself for some visual aids.

went to the market today. went to a supermarket, which had a small selection of a little of everything, but still considerably smaller than a krogers or harps. only bought a few things, as there is only one dormroom sized fridge for all five of us to share . this means i must buy and carry groceries about every two days. i tell you the truth, america is amazingly convenient.

i had my first meal in italy that wasn't from the pizzeria downstairs. i made a salad of sorts with tomatoes, fresh mozarella, olive oil, and oregano. it wasn't fabulous or anything, but it got the job done. better than dorm food, at any rate. will put up a picture of this creation soon.

still desperately want some new clothes so i'll stop lookign so american. however, ive had a suspicion that i would run into trouble b/c all italian people under the age of 50 are skinny. in england, there were lots of portly people, but not so much over here. so, i went into united colors of benneton and tried on a pair of pants i like in the biggest size i could find . two sizes too small probably. and i dont think they got much bigger than that. hmm. how embarassing. i have a feeling im going to lose some weight, though, as im eating less, sometimes more healthfully, and i walk miles and miles and miles a day, and everytime i leave i have to walk up and down three flights of stairs . im getting use to all this exercise and dont mind too much, really.

okay enough jibber jabber, i'm gonna upload!

megan, you were ABSOLUTELY right about this camera being a good investment. thanks for the encouragement in my buying frenzy!

EVERYONE0---leave me some comments! they'll make me happy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

birches by the tiberbirches by the tiber
birches by the tiber

although you cant see it, these are the trees with beautiful dangling brances
the island with trastevere the island with trastevere
the island with trastevere

im pretty sure that building you can see in the background is adjacent to mine
lunchlunch
lunch

the first meal i made for myself in italy.
random musiciansrandom musicians
random musicians

it is very very common for random musicians to start playing at ristorantes. every table tips them.
my streetmy street
my street

its not quite my street in the way americans think. i live on a piazza, which means square. basically its a little box area with a small parking lot in the middle and room on the sides for cars to drive around in. this is a picture of the closest thing i have to a street, its the alley i use to get to the rest of trastevere.
colleseo and the pines of romecolleseo and the pines of rome
colleseo and the pines of rome

those are pines trees. i like them more than american pines.
random roadrandom road
random road

this is just an example of how everywhere you go in rome, theres something amazing to be seen. we accidentally came up on this area while trying to find the colleseo.
random roadrandom road
random road

this is an avenue near the circus maximum.
ruinsruins
ruins

i pass these ruins on my way to school. i don't know what they are but a lot of cats hang out here.
sarah clarke and colleseosarah clarke and colleseo
sarah clarke and colleseo

one of my roomies
the forum, i thinkthe forum, i think
the forum, i think

i dont know what this is exactly. we found it on the way to the colleseo.


5th September 2005

Love the pictures!
Sarah- I am so glad that you are having a good time. I love seeing all of your pictures of all of the places I want to see. So don't worry about keeping them coming. Oh, and I hope you aren't scaring your roommates too bad by yelling or talking to them at night. LOL! Have a great day.
5th September 2005

I covet you. J/k
5th September 2005

lets try that again
i screwed up my first post. Crap, your stairwell is beatiful. I glad you are enjoying Roma. My favorite photo so far is the westminster one that says "and to us sinners enternal life". How Depressing, How British. Keep having a blast. Robert
5th September 2005

doesn't europe rock
sarah, i love getting these things. i totally should have done this w/ my trip last semester. it rocks. i love seeing your pics of rome. pick up a copy of angels and demons by dan brown if you havent read it already. it would be awesome to read while actually in rome. i think you will always look like an american but not looking like a tourist is always nice. cant wait to get your next one. yours truly, cole
5th September 2005

holy cow
Sarah! I am so excited (and jealous)that you are getting to see all this cool stuff! You look like you are having a wicked awesome time. Keep it up!
5th September 2005

._.
those pictures are amazing megan thanks for talking sarah into this camera! <3 i've saved them all already =] i wouldn't worry too much about lookin like an american. cuz you're one hawt american ;D
6th September 2005

WOOOO!!! I'm so excited for you!! Great pictures, keep them coming, don't start smoking, and HAVE A BLAST!!
6th September 2005

I MISS YOU
Hey Sarah, I love your posts. They bring culture to the base happenings here in F-ville. JK. These pictures are amazing! I'm so glad that you are loving Italy. Oh, and that's too bad about the English Lord thing, but hey there may be an Italian count or something living nearby. Would Countess Sarah work? I love you, girl. I seriously miss having you around. I'm holding my breath until the next post (figuratively, so you wouldn't feel responsible for my death). Hugs, Kim

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0205s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb