When in Rome, do as the Romans do


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
June 23rd 2007
Published: June 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Rome…

We arrived in Rome late afternoon; the air was humid and sticky. Tired from the bus ride I was in no mood for this walking tour. However my mind quickly changed when I saw the Coliseum, wow! To be standing next to a building so old my head cannot comprehend was amazing. From there we walked past the Roman Forum, Piazza Navona & then my favorite Fontana di Trevi. I have seen his fountain many many times in the movies but to be standing right next to it, stunning. Pretty much I spent my time here just watching people come and go. I did throw two coins in for wish and hope one day to return to this fountain.

After a few hrs exploring this amazing city Crystal, Joseph and I settled for a nice relaxing dinner. I played safe and ordered fettuccini Bolognese, it was yummoooo!! We sat down and listened to Italian songs and let the atmosphere take over.

After dinner we were back on the bus heading to our campsite. The cabins we stayed in were gorgeous!! Little wooden huts with 2 single beds, I enjoyed the stay here very much.

Next day we caught the train into the city for more exploring. About half of the group decided to line up for the Vatican and St Paul’s cathedral, I decided to give this a miss and bought myself a hop on hop off bus ticket. Best money ever spent, the bus drives you around Rome and you are free to hop on/off at any destination. It was relaxing and I was soaking in the sun while seeing all the famous landmarks. Afterwards I meet up with the group again for a walking tour to see the oldest ruins in Italy. I even manage to see where Julius Caesar was cremated! The tour was over 2 hrs and ended at the Coliseum, most of us end up going in to see the ruin. It was amazing to be standing inside and picturing the events that happened many years ago. Many photos later and enough sun for the day, I headed back to the campsite early. The campsite has a massive pool which most of us enjoyed cold water with the hot sun. Perfect way to end a fantastic day! That night was off to the bar for a few rounds of drinks, catching up on our adventures and indulging in the best pizza I have ever had. It was so good that I finished a whole pizza~ Rome does not disappoint!

Next stop… FLORENCE


Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0961s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb