Day of relaxation


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
June 9th 2007
Published: June 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I made my last entry a few days ago but then I just saved it and never actually put it on the Internet so you guys could see it. Hopefully it didnt scare any of you, but rest assured, Im still alive!

The day I posted that entry, I really didnt do a lot. I went out for dinner that night and was walking around with some gelato when I heard a bunch of church bells at the Basilica di Maria Maggiore. I walked down the block to see what was going on, and guess who I saw! The Pope! Im probably the least Catholic person in this city, but it was still really cool. He came in on his popemobile and then did a little service and then disappeared into the basilica. Then all of the people that were crowded into the square attempted to leave at once, which obviously didnt work well. All I have to say is that nuns are much meaner than I ever would have guessed--they were the pushiest out of the entire crowd!

I woke up early yesterday and went to the Vatican. Before I left, I booked a ticket for a tour group and Im so glad I did! Even when I got there, the line was already ridiculously long! With the tour group, we were able to go right in. I also dont think I would have gotten much out of anything if the tour guide hadnt of helped me. The museums were beautiful, the Sistine Chapel almost overwhelming. Actually, I kind of thought the Sistine Chapel was kind of guady. Theres just SO much in there and its all so bright. Each painting is individually beautiful, but all together, I think a lot of it loses effect. Or maybe it was the undreds of people they have in there at once that did that for me. I definitely loved it though. The Last Judgement was definitly my favorite, on the wall near the entrance.

St. Peters was amazing too. It was HUGE. Also, I saw some girl puke all over the place in there. I have to give her props--how many people can say they puked on the floor of one of the holiest places in the world? The entire basilica was beautiful though, everything from the statues to the mosaics to the altar to the tombs. Beautiful! Lots of pictures whenever I can get the Internet on my own computer again.

I walked around the city during the afternoon, and wandered into "normal" life. I saw some kids playing soccer and all I have to say is wow. These 12 year olds would be able to beat any high school time in the entire United States. I had a real dinner (opposed to pizza) at a restaurant across the street from my hotel--spaghetti, roasted chicken, and a salad. The spaghetti really was amazing. The waiter was kind of rude and kept making fun of my Italian. I was proud of myself for how much Ive picked up already, I didnt appreciate his "sense of humor" at all!

Todays another day off. Tomorrow Im going to the Galleria Borghese, and then Monday Im leaving for Naples! I miss all of you at home! Cant wait to see you again!

Advertisement



12th June 2007

yay!
I've read your entires...it sounds like a blast!! Hope you're having fun in Naples!

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb