Still alive!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Naples
June 13th 2007
Published: June 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So Im not such a fan of Naples. Its crowded and busy and the traffic is ridiculous. Most people dont speak English and they just look at me like Im stupid when I try to speak Italian. I know I obviously dont speak great Italian, but Im trying. Give me some credit.

Yesterday I hated Naples. Today I still dont like it, but Ive adjusted and its okay now.

So after seeing the Pope... I saw the anti-Bush riots. They were peaceful, but I was still kind of afraid and spent a lot of that day in my room. It was my last day there, but I had kind of run out of things to do anyways.

So I came to Naples the next day. And hated it so much. I couldnt find the hotel I was supposed to stay at but I saw a Best Western sign so I spent the night there. They were booked after that, but I quickly found a place to stay for the rest of my time here. The idea of lugging my suitcase across Naples to get on a ferry for Sicily was very unappealing, so I decided to forgo Sicily, which Im glad I did. Today I went to Pompeii (its amazing to think that all of that is 2000 years old! The paintings even still have vibrant color in them!) and then came back to Naples and thats when I decided I didnt hate it quite so much. I ventured to the National Archeological Museum and then to the Catacome di San Gerrano (which was really unexciting, but the church its under was beautiful--and huge!).

Tomorrow Im going to go to Sorrento and then I might go to Capri the day after. And then Im headed towards Venice!

I still havent been able to use my own computer on the Internet, so still no pictures. But I figured Id let you know Im alive anyways!
Miss you all. I never thought Id miss the United States quite as much I do right now!

Advertisement



14th June 2007

We love ya!

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb