A busy busy day!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
June 7th 2007
Published: June 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My updates might not be so frequent anymore. The new hotel Im staying in doesnt have Internet. They were supposed to have a shared computer for all of the guests, but its broken. So right now Im at an Internet Point, using a public computer. Its fairly cheap, but it still costs money Id rather not spend!

Yesterday was a long day, but I got a lot done! I was able to sleep a little bit (although I still woke up at 4), had breakfast, checked out, checked in at my new hotel, and then started to wander. At the new hotel, my room wasnt ready yet, and so I left my suitcase in the "luggage room." Unfortunately, I cant fit everything into my suitcase, so I had a bunch of crap in my bookbag that I then had to lug around the city. Of course, this was the day I decided to go everywhere. First I went to the Basilica di Maria Maggiore, where Bernini is buried (although its a very beautiful church, and is known more as a church instead of where Bernini is buried). Than I wandered around until I ended up near Dumous Aurea. It was this beautiful park with some ruins mixed in, but mostly just a park. From there, I walked down to the Colosseum (theyre right next to each other actually) and actually went inside it this time. Its nothing short of amazing. I took lots of pictures, which Ill post when I can connect my own computer to the Internet!

I then headed over to the Pantheon and grabbed lunch on the way. I sat down and ate my sandwich behind this big basilica/dome thing and looked at my maps trying to figure out where I was. I knew I was really close to the Pantheon, but I couldnt figure out where it was from me!! I decided to just walk around until I found it. As soon as I walked around the dome though, I realized just how stupid I had been: I had eaten lunch at the Pantheon! For some reason, I didnt think of the Pantheon as more than just the front of it, it turns out that behind the columns is a huge basilica that was absolutely beautiful inside!

From the Pantheon, I headed over to Piazza Navona, which is by far my favorite spot so far. It was huge, with three fountains, and it wasnt as crowded as a lot of the other places have been. There were a lot of vendors, but they apparently dont hassle people by themselves; I noticed that they targeted people in groups of 3-4. Which makes sense-I know that Im more likely to buy something when Im with a friend or two than I am when Im by myself!

I attempted to go to the Piazza Altemps after that, but I ended up never finding it. Instead, I ended up at the Tiber River (where I wanted to go after the Piazza anyways). Its a really pretty river, but a lot of homeless people live under the bridges so it reeks of urine anytime you approach a bridge. I followed the river back towards "home." By this point, I had run out of water and couldnt wait until I got close to the Ancient Rome again, where I knew there was a fountain with really good water! I followed a street I thought would lead me to it, but it ended up being cut off by the Roman Forum. So I ended up walking through the Forum (and going up a zillion stairs!) before I got to the fountain. Water has never tasted so good!

I then made it back my hotel, where I spent a good four minutes trying to figure out how to unlock my door (the key had to turn several times around before it was unlocked!). The place is nice enough, although Im kind of upset about not having the Internet. Ive been using Skype to call home, which is basically using the Internet as a phone line and the computer as the phone. Im not particularly a huge fan of using the Internet Points while I talk on the phone, but it works.

I showered and relaxed for a little bit, and than wandered around looking for dinner. I had pizza, and then got some cherry gelato for desert. Tonight Im going to stop at one of the nicer places on the street and get some sort of pasta!
I also did a little bit of shopping last night, I bought some postcards and an alarm clock. I was impressed with the service when I bought the alarm clock--the man opened it for me, put in a battery, set the time, and showed me how to set the alarm. You definitely dont get that service in the U.S.!!
I then went back to the hotel, watched a movie, and went to sleep. I celebrated having an alarm clock by turning it off when it went off this morning and slept for another three hours this morning. I actually slept the entire night though!! I suppose after walking almost 13 miles around the city, that should be expected.

Well, my time is almost up on the computer so I need to get going. I hope everyone is doing well in the states! I miss all of you!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1194s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb