Lost in the Ghetto of Dead Cats


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
June 7th 2007
Published: June 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Last night I couldnt sleep because of someone playing an accordion so waking up at 6 30 in the morn rather sucked but we needed to be out of our hostel by 10 so oh well. I ate some cereal in the kitchen and listened to the Australian owner talk about how crazy things were in Rome won Italy won the World Cup. It sounded like mania. Wish I had been here. He then talked about how he has been mugged twice in Rome and his house was broken into when he was sleeping. The thief locked him in so when he woke up and had to go to the bathroom he couldnt get out. " I had to take a pee in my flower pot." Then he yelled for 5 hours but everyone was at the beach so he was stuck. He then told me that the guest I had met earlier from Singapore was actually a bishop! Ive never met a bishop but he seemed too normal to be one and why was he in hostel? Who knows, but he was very nice. We then had to lug our backpacks and find our new hostel which was off my map. This was not ok with me because that map is life and if something is off that map, it may as well not exist. We went off walking fast and my backpack was heavy but not too bad. It felt like a hike in the forest. We got lost. Of course. We went into Hotel Athena and the guy was so kind. He left us use his telephone and internet to try and find Rome City Hostel. We found it and put our stuff in a bathroom because our room wasnt ready yet and then decided to go see the Coloseum.

Lost. Again. SUPRISE. This time was the worst yet. We ended up in the gheeeetooo. Graffiti everywhere. Cardboard shacks. PLus a huge castle wall that blocked our ability to figure out where we were. A ghetto including a castle wall. Ghetto the Rome way. We saw a dead kitten. It was so horrible. It was then I knew we were in Hell. We asked some police where to go and they pointed us in direction that I think they made up. We were totally lost. I then saw a nun wearing Tevas. This means they are Holy shoes and anyone that says they are ugly is going to hell. SO there everyone at Sonoma State. My Tevas are awesome.

This whole time I had to put my bitch face on. This is where I attempt to look mean so no one will mess with me. I thought this would be hard since I smile and giggle alot but it was easy. All Italian women do it. Its easy not to smile when no one else is. My bitch face did break though when some Italian guys whistled at us and I giggled. Gotta put my bitch face on. Ha that should be a rap song.

FINALLY we saw through an opening in the trees the Coloseum. I wanted to kiss the ground. I couldnt believe I was standing by it. The line was huge but we got in soon enough and it was crazy to look at the inside of this place. Apparently gladiators only fought 3 times a year here. It used to be covered in gold and there was much more marble and I wish I could have seen it then. I hate fights but I would love to see one there right now. With our ticket we got in to Palentine Hill and the Forum. If you go to Rome you HAVE to go here. It is mind blowing. It is a vast grounds full of the most exqusitie ruins I have ever seen. I cant even fathom how it must of looked during its golden era. I cant believe humans had to ability to make such things. Youd have to see my pictures because I cant describe it. I love Rome. Not new rome with its dirtiness and people everywhere but old rome. Just sitting there in the ruins is amazing. I would have wanted to stay there all day but the sun was hot and my feet hurt sooo sooo sooo much. Yesterday we walked 8 to 4 and today we walked 9 to 2. I am tired and ready for some pizza.

We went to our hostel and it is a 4 bed room. We have one other person in the room withus but just their stuff was there. I hope they are not weird. Funniest thing. The toliet is right next to the shower so that when you go to the bathroom your knees are against the shower. There is no room, it is ridiculous.

Tomorrow we leave for Venice in the morning. I cant wait. Ive been wanting to see Venice since I was a kid. Hopefully no more ghetto.




Advertisement



7th June 2007

I Once Saw a Scary Movie About Hostels...Be Safe
Hi! I LOVE your blogs! I just went to Rome a week and a half ago and it's so funny hearing about the stuff you did there, because I actually know what you're talking about. I don't know what's up with the socks on the plane- ask for wine next time. They'll deliver. I went to that creepy bone chapel, too! Isn't that the weirdest thing? It was actually pretty, which kindof freaked me out. Does that mean I'm turning into some Hannibal Lecter-esque creature? I don't think so, but my friends sure do when I tell them about that chapel. And isn't the Forum stunning? I'd never even heard of it, but that was my favorite part of the trip. I almost peed my pants. Quite a few times. Anyways. No need to waste your internet time replying to me. Just carry me in your heart. Unconditional Love Forever, Brynna
9th June 2007

Hurray for Tevas
Yes they're hideous but if the nuns do it, "When in Rome..."

Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.087s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb