Reasons to Join the Mafia


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
June 6th 2007
Published: June 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We woke up at 7 am to see Rome before all the other annoying tourists like ourselves and we felt completly rejuvinated. I had bread and jam for breakfest and talked to Mick, and Australian man I met, about seeing Rome, cricket, and falling off of bicycles. He told us if we liked weird things then we should go to the number 27 church. I said goodbye to him because he was going home to the UK where he lives now and Melissa and I headed off to the Vatican. Mind you the Vatican is on the complete oppostite side of the city so this is about an hour walk. My map of Rome has become the Holy Bible. We had to confer with it about every other street. Rome is hardly a grid system, the streets are like the hair of Medusa. On our way we went to Trevi Fountain which was pretty but less than I had expected. They sadly were cleaning it when we arrived which took away from the luster. It was really fun exploring the streets of Italy and the walk was long but worth it. We got to St. Peters Bascilla at about 10 o clock and I was shocked at the amount of people gathered there. On Wednesdays the Pope gives a papal blessing and there were thousands of people gathered standing and sitting in chairs. Melissa and I shoved our way to the 2nd tier of chairs and got a seat next to an Irish couple. Just sitting next to them made me want to change my nationality. They were so cute and Irish in all ways. We sat for about a half hour watching people wave flags and sing songs about the pope I suppose and then I heard music that sounded like it came out of a very lame jack in the box. It was the Popes music and he came out in a very very slow car. Reminded me of Homecoming Parades. Melissa and I got all giddy and stood on our chairs to see him while being yelled at in Italian for blocking the view. I got a pretty good picture. I dont know why I was so excited about the Pope. Im not even Catholic. I guess we got caught up in the religious fervor.

We then went to the Vatican Museum and the line was almost 3 blocks long. I must admit we sort of kind of cut in line. But we still had to wait 45 min. so that is allright. Right? The Vatican Museum was just stunning. It was pretty large and there were statues and ceiling and wall paintings everywhere. It is like a palace. We were herded like cattle to the Sistine Chapel where we were shushed every 10 seconds because it is a silent holy place. I sat down to take in the wonder that is the Sistine Chapel next to an Asian man. Out of the corner of my eye I saw him take a picture and Melissa informed me that it was of me. Creepy and by all means not cool. I would like to know what is going to happen with that picture. It better not end up on his nightstand. Then we grabbed my hand, shook it, and fanned me with a fan. I left. Thanks for ruining the Sistine Chapel Asian Man.

We then climbed the Spanish steps which about killed me, sadly. We roamed Rome (haha) and then found a gelataria where I had Nutella Gelato (you all know this was the choice i had to make seeing as I am obsessed with Nutella) and so did Melissa. It was soooo good. Damn. I love ice cream and gelato. I could talk about it for days. But I wont.

So we went to where Mick said to go and it was the coolest weirdest thing I have seen yet. A cemetary of sorts. Artwork made of bones. Dead monk skelotons in thier robes. Rooms full of hundreds of skulls and femers. All in an artistic freaking werid way. There was even a skeloton of a child on the ceiling. The thing that freaked me out the most was the fresh dirt on the floor with lumps that had crosses above them. New graves?

We were walking out of there down the street tryng to figure out the map when an Italian woman stopped and said Can I help you? I started to ask if she knew where this street was but she decided to give me her wise old lecture. "Be careful with your lives, you are young, 18?" HAHA I hate looking young. But she thought Melissa was 16 so ha again. " You need to take care of your lives, find a nice Italian boy to take care of you. The Mafia will take care of you. They take care." So i decided to join the Mafia and I am writing this from my new home with Giovanni the drug lord.
Peace out everyone
okay JK.

SO then we went grocery shopping which was an experience in its own.
Then i watched Roman Holiday which some people.
Greogory Peck is hot.
Time is running out on this computer crap bye.







Advertisement



7th June 2007

Italian and Asian men
I should tell you that the Italian mafia has been taking care of you already all these years. You see, your mother married a nice italian boy and you, my dear, are a mafia princess. Didn't it seem odd to you that the minute you arrived in Roma, your Italian uncle's "associate" - an italian with a villa and mistress, who doesn't care about breaking laws, would pick you up? Think about it.
8th June 2007

Italian Lady was right
Never go against the family! ;)
9th June 2007

One Catholic to another...
You've been to the vatican, I think that means you're catholic now! I'm not sure but i think thats how it works. "BTW" calling your map a Bibile while in the vatican is grounds for being kicked out, thats the biggest form of blasphmey i have ever! The mofia sounds like a great idea...can you get me in too?

Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0159s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb