Following the Footsteps of a Man they call Hannibal


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
January 30th 2007
Published: January 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Last leg of Hannibal's Journey

Our train from Florence to Rome took about 3 hours, but some of the scenery was breathtaking. It was like taking the backroads.

For you history buffs (Mike, Rod), you may recall a little war between a growing nation of people called Romans and some dude named Hannibal (not the cannibal played by Anthony Hopkins). Check out my route to Rome and see if you don't see any similarities. The main difference being I exchanged elephants for my father, but I don't know what that means.

Like Paris, Rome has something amazing around every corner. We checked out ruins yesterday, and today we hope to explore the Vatican City (does it count as another country?). The colosseum was astounding, but even more impressive may have been the acres of ruins (Roman Forum) leading up to it. Both are about a 15 min stroll from our hostel.

Ok, dad story time. Yesterday we found a pretty cheap place to have a nice dinner. On walking in dad saw a spread of hor'd'orves which looked pretty enticing (spinach, stewed tomatoes, fishy stuff, etc...). It was buffet style and he decided to get a plate which we would share. Naturally, he returned with 2 of everything. However, there were about a dozen different dishes so his plate looked like he was at a church potluck. The waiter didn't take too kindly of this and promptly charged us for 2 plates. We were both actually really embarrassed, but I may have done the same thing in his situation. The apple doesn't fall too far. Needless to say we tryed a lot of new, strange dishes. Some were good, some were.... We'll eat anything, though. It was still a great time. It was fabulous to hear from everyone. Sorry about the confusion in checking the blog. I had no idea what was going on. Rod, let me know if the one worked for you class or whatever. Love you all.
Still living my dream,
Brett

Advertisement



30th January 2007

ahh...the malone cheapness
Love the food story. Totally true about every one of us. Only difference here would be EJ and Gina would be totally pissed at us. Glad that the elephants (dad) survived the journey over the alps Mr. Barca.
30th January 2007

Is it odd that we enjoy ruins so much?
I am glad everyone is catching up to the Blog idea. Another hint, enroll in an RSS feed and it tells you when there is a new posting. Give me a call if you are interested :-) I can almost imagine you two strolling thru Rome and trying to eat cheaply -- live and learn! Today is sunny and cool, maybe snow tomorrow. Blessings!
31st January 2007

Snow in Kansas
So we are having 1-2 inches of snow but as I look out my office window I am sure we are up to 4 by now (9:45 a.m.) I am leaving around 2 p.m. since I worked late last night so I will get home before dark :-) Need to check out the L'Bri web site and see what you 'enrolled" for. Never a dull moment with you guys!
31st January 2007

Stingy or thrifty?
I can totally understand the one plate, but why must they charge you for two when you were going to eat the whole thing and not waste a bite? Enjoying the messages and comments. Weather forcast: Sunny but cold. Little snow this morning.
1st February 2007

love and miss you guys
so, which is it Paris, Barca, Florence, or Rome.....and don't tell me they're all great and you can't decide! The kids have enjoyed hearing about this white guy who looks like me at places they've actually studied. The Palace of Versaille was particularly interesting because we had looked at some online pictures of it before your trip, and they looked a lot like yours.....sit in the papal seat for me.

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb