Maybe the Last


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Ollon
February 3rd 2007
Published: February 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Final Retreat

This is the location of L'abri (my home for the week). Zoom in for more details.

I'm actually in Geneva again (much to my chagrin), but I figured I'd put L'Abri since that's where my heart is. Tomorrow dad heads out, and I decided to head for another mountain retreat. This one happens to be in the Swiss Alps and includes about 30 of my peers. You can check out L'Abri online at labri.org if you want some more details. A guy I went to Egypt with is there for about 6 months so he was my contact. Truth is I'm sick of traveling and spending money and being a tourist. A spiritual retreat with some much needed community is just what I need. I'm afraid without labri I would be following dad onto the plane tomorrow. Maybe i'm weak but it turns out I am human and I miss home. I miss home a lot sometimes.

That said, this trip has been fantastic and surreal and mind-blowing and .... It's been everything i could have hoped for. Paris, Barcelona, Florence, Rome. How can i complain? However, every painting is a bit of a let down after the Mona Lisa and the Sistine Chapel. Every building is a let down after the Colosseum and Sagrada Familia. Every church is a let down after St. Peter's. Every sculpture is a let down after the David. Wow, what a great run. I think that the perfect ending would be seeking God with 30 other fellow believers for a week. It's not as Kumbaya as it sounds and, Rod, you would probably love it more than i would. I'm excited and it's where I need to be this week. Perfect peace. God's given me perfect peace during many phases of this adventure and once again he has provided.

So what do i say about rome? it was ... it was rome. How can it be anything but spectacular? Colosseum, Vatican, Pope, Sistine, ruins around every corner, pizza, pasta, canollis, soccer. As most of you know the soccer game (Roma-AC Milan) was beyond belief. I could tell you the stories but you'd probably cast them off as a big fish. However, I couldn't embellish them if I wanted to. The time was fantastic and dad's presence made it perfect. I'm so glad he came. Sorry that this is a bit verbose, but it may be the last blog of this trip, and I needed to wrap up Rome and introduce labri. When I return home, I'll be the RD in Gillespie for a bit and then it's off to India (maybe March 9th). Surely this is all a dream. Love you all, love the pictures of Gina and the video, I can't wait to share stories and just sit and talk and drink coffee with everyone.
Brett

Advertisement



5th February 2007

miss you too
We can't wait to have you back too. What a run for sure. I think that you are reacting to all the traveling the same way that I would. I could see get worn out...then seeking some mountain retreat with God and conversation. Love you, miss you, have a safe rest of the trip.
8th February 2007

hey, what's up?
hey travel buddy. I'm finally getting my internal clock back on Kansas time. had an uneventful flight back and it was so........good to see mom again. I have tried to retell the soccer stories but it was better in reality and I can't use words to describe the experience. it was really great spending 10 days with a truly great son. You are really special and those days will be etched in memory forever. thanks for being a great tour guide and leader. it was nice to just follow you around. you are quite the travel mate. loved it so much, I might have to do that again. travel buddy, dad

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0703s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb