Azienda Agricola Il Granello 2


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Emilia-Romagna » Bologna
October 12th 2009
Published: October 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I have a little bit of time before lunch today, so I get to write another installment. I just got back from an exhilirating 4K run. The first half is completely uphill, and since it’s an out-and-back type of run, the second half is almost entirely downhill. Interesting story #3 (I think. I've lost count of how many): About 30 seconds into the second half of the run it started to pour. It was amazing. As cliché as it sounds, I felt completely alive. The way rain looks as it falls on nearby mountains is indescribable.

Anyway, I got back to Il Granello entirely soaked. The first words Elisa and Romano said to me were “docia calda”, “hot shower”. That kind of exemplifies the mood here. Everyone has so much care and tenderness for each other. It really feels like a family, even though I’m the only WWOOFer here right now. It felt even more like a family when there were four of us. On that note, another WWOOFer, Mika, from Israel is arriving today. I figure it will be the perfect opportunity to find out about Israel from a good source before I get there.

Yesterday I went to Bologna. It is quite the beautiful city. I took pictures, but I don’t think this computer can upload photos, so I’ll have to post them later. Since it was a Sunday, many things were closed, including my holy grial, the Nutelleria (I have developed an awful addiction to Nutella). But it was still beautiful to see, and I did find several open gelaterie. Pistacchio is my new favorite flavor.
My high-points of the day were 1) finding my way around without getting lost in yet another labyrinth-like Italian city 2) telling several people I met that I was from Spain and getting away with it 3) Interesting story #4 (I think, I've lost count): In a moment of genious, I didn’t read the fine print on the return bus schedule. There are buses back in the direction of Livergnano (the closest village) eveyr hour, but only three of them throughout the day go all the way there. Most only go to Pianoro Vecchio, which is 8 or 9K from Livergnano (which is another 2K from Il Granello). I had two choices - wait until 7pm for the next bus that went all the way to Livergnano (at the time it was 3pm) or take the current bus and call for a ride from Pianoro. I opted for the second one, since I didn’t feel like walking the 2K from Livergnano in the dark. Once on the bus, I made another excellent discovery - my cellphone battery was dead. So, I now had one choice: walk all the way home from Pianoro Vecchio, about 10 or 12K total. I was a little surprised that I didn’t feel at all bad about the prospect. It was beautiful weather (Interesting story #5: it was actually so hot that I ended up taking off my t-shirt, as those who know me well would not be surprised to know. Unfortunately this caused a bit of a traffic slow-down and several honking motorcyclists. I really don’t know why. I guess macho motorcycle guys will honk at anyone.) It was a great walk. The solitude was nice. Traveling alone is a great way to learn how to love and enjoy yourself.

Let’s see, more news from the farm. It has been quite warm the whole time I’ve been here, but now it is starting to get cold. I’m planning to move south by the end of the month. A new kitten for the kids arrived yesterday. They call her Macchiolina, or “spotty” because she is white with black spots. Fourteen bunnies were born yesterday. The chicks are starting to grow up. I spent the last two working days preparing sacks of herbs for the market tomorrow. It’s calming and relaxing, but I miss the more physical work. I’ve been running and mountain-biking on the days I’m inside all day packing herbs.
By the way, I guess I had never really gone mountain-biking before now. It is quite the interesting sport. I would describe it as a combination of terror, adrenaline, sweat, anaerobic threshold, heart attack, and fun. Here in the mountains there is no such thing as a flat road or even a paved one for that matter. What goes up must come down and vice versa. My runs and bikerides are all steep climbs in one direction and all sharp descents on the return. So first I go flying down a hill on the bike, about to have a heart attack from fear of falling. Then I turn around and go up the hill, about to have a heart attack because I can barely make it up the hill. Mountains.

Well, that’s about all for now. I am about to go enjoy a cup of fennel tea and read in my snuggly warn bed. Ciao!


Advertisement



12th October 2009

So Cool Maddy!
it sounds like you are having a fabulous time my dear! You really know how to have wonderful adventures and to balance the physical with the calm and the connections with people. I love hearing your stories...thinking of you every single day. love, Barbara
12th October 2009

Lovely
Maddy, Lovely entry. "I don't know why" re: the traffic slowdown and motorcycle honking is a joke, right? Are you wearing a helmet? Or maybe you aren't and you fell, and that's why you 'don't know why.' Keep the posts coming.
13th October 2009

The Art Monastery Project
Ciao, did you also hear about the Art Monastery Project in Calvi Dell'Umbria? With a beautiful guesthouse, Casale Santa Brigida. I am working there now: good place to be!! check our site: www.casalesantabrigida.org. Ciao Judith
19th October 2009

Hey
I love hearing about your experiences. You sound so happy! It seems like you are at peace. I miss you, Love Aunt Terri
26th October 2009

<3
MADELINE ROSE SHAW!! I miss you! and, Sarah and I wrote you letters today, then I found out I don't know where the hell to send it to.. so, you email me that address if there is one, okay? love you!

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb