Livergnano - Azienda Agricola Il Granello


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Emilia-Romagna » Bologna
September 29th 2009
Published: September 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ciao a tutti! (Hi everyone!)

This entry will be short because the computer at this farm is slow, and they pay internet per minute, not a flat rate.

I love it here! I am in the middle of the mountains in the middle of nowhere. There are 9 people living on the farm currently: Elisa and Romano (the owners), Lorenzo, Alice, and Gabriele, their children, Claudia and Michael (WWOOFers from Switzerland), Arnt (a WWOOFer from Norway), and me.

So far, I have planted fennel and mint, cut back invading mint plants, potted mint plants, weeded, and made dirt from compost. I discovered that I love the smell of dirt. I also love the smell of all the herbs we grow here. Too many to name.

I am learning Italian and it is going pretty well. I also speak Spanish with Claudia and English with Arnt (and Elisa and Romano when I can't understand Italian). I watched a really cool documentary on GMOs and the Monsanto company with the other WWOOFers. Very interesting. Check it out.

Later, I will find a place where I can write a longer entry. But ciao for now!

Advertisement



2nd October 2009

enjoying vicariously
I am so enjoying reading about your experiences and so very proud to know you. I have shared your blog with some of my grad students and like me they are impressed with your current mission in life. Take care and our whole family sends their love. Aunt Barb
10th October 2009

Ciao, bella
Hi Maddie, I am beyond impressed with what you are doing. I love reading your posts and hope you continue to write more. This year will have an indelible impact on the rest of your life. The first living abroad experience is profound on so many levels. I look forward to following your journey. Many blessings, Kim

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb