The Gods of Metal


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Emilia-Romagna » Bologna
June 12th 2005
Published: June 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

DuststormDuststormDuststorm

The view from the hill I was sitting at during the performance of Slayer
I have left the fog shrouded land of Scotland and headed for the sun filled vally of Bologna, Italy for the Gods of Metal festival. There was over 24 hours of music over 2 days playing for an audiance of over fourty thousand people. It was an great show with many great bands playing. On the Saturday the lineup was:











The lineup for Sunday was:











Although the show was great, after the band ended, many people just started leaving so there wasn't much of an encore. It was interesting to have Motley Crue follow Megadeath in terms of stage performance. Megadeath stopped twice to talk, once to say their not going to talk much and once at the end of the show and the rest of the time was just playing. Motley Crue on the other hand had a huge stage show with midgets, dancers and a lot of talking. It was a great weekend of music though. It was a very relaxed show as well. During the day I lounged on a hill overlooking the stage and for the main acts headed into the fray one the head of the day had died down. They had people walking around selling Italian Ice Cream which really hit the spot after sitting in the sun for four or five hours.

The quailty of the food in Italy is so much better than in England. I went out with a few other people on the friday and had a full course meal of brusheta bread, a duck pasta, lamb chops and a sorbé for desert, along with a bottle of wine and all for 20 euros. And the food was amazing. The food at the concert was very good as well (for concert food). For 4 euros you could get a sausage panini with grilled vegtiables that was a decent size and tasted really good. Much better food than at the concerts I have been too at home. Tomorrow I am off to explore Balogna before heading to Venice.

Advertisement



17th June 2005

Whoa!
What a concert! Glad I missed it :-)
21st June 2005

rock on
hey man i came all the way from florida usa to the f**in concert was awseome every word is true food gals all super god bless heavy metal
29th June 2005

Cool!
I was reading your comments about GODS OF METAL. I was checking it out because it turns out I was in Italy on vacation the weekend of the fest. Though I did not realize it until the next day, Monday, when I saw a bunch of metalheads in Florence with GOM t-shirts on. So today I was looking online for more info on the festival. I heard it was 60 Euro PER DAY. Was that true? Do you have more pictures? You are so right about the food. My wife and I visited Rome, Florence and Venice (may have been there while you were!) and the food was great! BTW, I’m the guitarist in the band Overlorde. www.overlorde.com. You may have heard of us…

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1155s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb