Amalfi drive and Pompei


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Pompei
September 1st 2009
Published: September 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

We had to get up really really early to make the 3 hour drive to Pompei so I didn't do anything the night before. The drive there was really boring, it was similar to driving to IU, nothing really to look at, but once we got there it was amazing. It was so hot as usual, I did not expect it to be this hot at all! Once we got into Pompei it was so weird to see houses and building from over a thousand years ago and to imagine what it was like to live in that time. Everything used to be marble which just amazes me. We were able to see an old house and how they were set up and there was a stray dog sleeping in front of one of the gates 😞 it was really sad, I wanted to take him home with me. I think I would've enjoyed it had it not been so so hot! I took a lot of pictures though. I saw some of the people that were killed by the ash of Mount Vesuveus, there was a woman who was pregnant and she's on her stomach trying to protect her baby and there was a dog struggling to get away, it was just so sad.
After that we went for a swim in the Mediterranean Sea, it was so warm but they don't really have beaches like in the states. There's sand and chairs but they're not big and open. They had the changing stalls that you get a key for, I've never actually seen those in person before so that was interesting. After that the bus took us along the Amalfi coast, it was simply gorgeous! You have to drive right along the edge though so I was freaking out a little because some sections didn't have guard rails. Other than that it was amazing and I know where I want to go for my senior spring break!
I finally got internet!!! ....for 2 hours. They have us on the go all the time, if we're not taking a tour we're learning italian. The next thing we get to see is the Vatican, I don't really know anything about it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0244s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb