Ooh, ooh that smell...can't you smell that smell?


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland
April 24th 2005
Published: April 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So-- I'll make every attempt to relate the smells that I am so fortunate to be exposed to (and can actually smell since I don't smoke ciggies)...I wake up on my purple sheets in my white walled bedroom...the sun pours in (on those lucky days) and the first scent of the day comes with it, i call it 'morning dew' and it fills my nose....a scent some may classify as 'moldy' but it's much lovelier than that...it's more like a wet freshness....like if you bottled up 'fresh morning' and sold it as perfume, that's what it'd be like...yea, yea, that's it. I guess with all the rain/dampness here it's a pretty standard irish smell, I'm sure anyone who has been here knows what I mean...(think!-everything is covered in moss...)...
On my way to work (where ever that may be on that particular day) I pass 2 breweries....Beamish and Crawford and Heineken, so the sweet smell of yeasty, 'beer cooking' aroma gets 'me' mouth watering....(then I count down the days to when I'll have another delicious adult beverage, not really, but...) Then every shop makes their own bread/pasteries so the smell of carbohydrates fills the air....yum, suitable for a climate that makes ya crave carbs...no atkins craze here...lol. In the evenings I go on runs, sometimes out to the countryside, other times to this quaint lough nearby (lough pronounced lock, like a pond/lake)...here is when I find myself salivating at the earthy smells that are so overpowering - in a good way...strange huh? I always thought food made ya salivate, not dirt....but for some reason it seems so organic as if I'm really one with the earth....If I go far out into the counrtyside I am hit with fertilizer/cow DUNG (great word) and all sorts of vegetation---potatoes--he he...of course.

it's just overall a really awakening experience to smell such freshness as opposed to SEPTA buses blaring by me dumping their black smoke and nauseating fumes into my lungs...but that's just me.
I think my camera situation will be sorted for next week! Which is good news, seeing that Aunt Aggie and Michele will be here...and we'll be on the road....'photo opportunities' CAN'T WAIT!
Hope you are all doing wonderfully and enjoying the warm sun that spring seems to be bringing.....Sorry if this comes off a bit poorly written, my mind is still fuzzy from a very long night this past Friday...I was bartending a wedding and didn't finish til '6 in the morning.' Snoop would be so proud.
with love,
Roxy

Advertisement



25th April 2005

haha, sounds good to me, a good desciption. reminds me of the smell of freshly cut hay on a dewy morning, some smells are just so good and hard to remember till you smell them again. - ranskye
29th April 2005

I really like your "smell journal". . .
I just re-read your entry for the 2nd time; it's so interesting how words can evoke a memory of such primal sense, how it can make you virtually hallucinate a feeling. . . .write more for your curious readers!!! - Jeanine

Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb