Cinco de Mayo


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland
May 5th 2005
Published: May 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Did you know that it's not the celebration of Mexican Independence (from the Spanish)....but rather the Mexican defeat of the French Army? It's true....I think most people just say Independence for the hell of it, even though they live next door to us (in the U.S.)--maybe we should know a bit more.

Anyway, I just had one of the most memorable weeks of my life....My advice to the ladies out there: in your life take at least one road trip with a couple of other girls!!!! My advice to the gents: ditto---well, maybe with a couple of other guys...lol. I never laughed so much, my sides are still recovering and perhaps are rock solid muscle from the contractions caused by such laughter. I had 2 visitors in Ireland for a week....I swear we covered every philosophical aspect of life from 'is a lamb a sheep?' to how chicks are born, to the horrible design of a Hyundai MINI jeep to the Irish obsession with MARY--there are shrines everywhere. However we also decided our trip would forever be a 'ya had to be there' kind of trip. You know, where stupid humour rules and nobody else gets it or cares to. But we covered some serious distance, something like 1200-1300 kilometers. for you milers that's like 745-800 miles. Today was the first day I woke up without them, I felt confused...thought I should be having toast in a bed & breakfast and planning the day's adventure....instead I was in Cork missing 'home' whatever that term seems to comprise...i think it's more of a feeling....like having something familiar around you! But, as always, it will pass....and Cork will go back to being home...
Anyway I put my film in- I think I got loads of good photos....as did the girls'---who hopefully will e-mail me some so I can post them up here.
I have so much to say but I really wanted to take the time to just say I love all of you who read these and am glad I have you in my life, in whatever capacity that may be. Also to say WELL DONE to the Mexicans on their special day... 😉
Be back soon.

Advertisement



7th May 2005

What up?!?
Thanks for clearing that up, the whole, what is "Cinco de Mayo" thing--me and Lora were arguing about it, and both of us were wrong. Will tell you more later--I'm drinking and watching "Singles" right now. - Jeanine

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb