Kissin da Stone!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland
March 1st 2005
Published: March 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

The Kiss....The Kiss....The Kiss....

That's me, doing the deed.
Oh, I went on another little adventure on Sunday as well...seeing that I'm such a short distance to the Blarney castle I decided to go do the tourist thing...as that is what I am, essentially. I kissed the stone, which is little scarier than I had imagined. There are bars under you to break your fall but still, you literally lean back into the hole and kiss the underside of the stone. One girl after me didn't do it, she freaked out a bit....was kind of funny. The grounds around the castle were really pretty - incorporating a prehistoric Druids site where some remains are still standing...I had so much fun, like a little kid, I was going in the little structures pretending I was in like some old time film or something...The only bad thing about the day was I had my camera but no film...however I did have a disposable, so I'll have some prints to show for it, though I imagine they won't be so good. However, they say a good photographer needs no technology, just film and light--we'll see how I did. 😉
I did have my trusting phone with me though...
You know what else, with
Blarney castleBlarney castleBlarney castle

Basic shot, thanks to T-Mobile. The kiss is had at the top.
no offense to the following ethnicities, the Indian and Chinese sure do show up EVERYWHERE, they're just as bad as the fast food industry...they don't miss a beat. I mean, who gets to Ireland, kisses the Blarney stone, then feels like having some egg rolls, or a curry? They set up shop in every *money making* spot too...I mean, I like the food, but who's to say only fast food people capitalize? 😉
Anyway, still no job, getting a bit bummed about that cos I want to venture out of Cork a bit more!!!
By the way I took this milk shot on my way to this Internet cafe today (with my phone). I thought it was extremely ironic, and ridiculously funny. Again, why i don't just glue my camera to my hands I don't know.
By the way, I hope these don't come off as impersonal, generic stories all about me!!! But, I guess they are...ha ha.
Happy days to all of you, especially those of you dealing with the snow today!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Got milk?Got milk?
Got milk?

Looks like the milkman made a visit to this house....HMM...?


5th March 2005

HI ROXANNE
Hey Roxanne, Looks like a lot of fun--I'm never sure if I like the feeling of vertigo or don't like it, so I'm not sure if I'd do it or not. . . on one hand, I like feeling like I'm going to fall, but on the other hand, that's exactly what I'm always having nightmares about. . . that's probably what partially makes the Blarney Stone experience such a psychic rush, now that I think about it. . . I really hope you are having a great and memorable time on your trip. Things here are ok for me--as usual, i have a love-hate relationship w/ my job and am dabbling with a wide variety of "self-improvement" projects, half of which will be abandoned next week. I'm at Gene's right now; we're just going to have pizza and wine and maybe watch a movie. Keep me updated visually and otherwise w/ what's going on with your life in Ireland!!! Love Jeanine - Jeanine

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb